The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP and IP Assignement

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by web12, Dec 14, 2002.

  1. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi people,

    Hope you can help me out here, I seem to have hit a problem with ftp.

    I have a reseller customer who is telling me none of his clients can ftp to their domains. I've checked this out and it is true. Everything works fine if they ftp to the main server IP... but if they ftp to the assigned IP or their own ftp.domain.com then it comes up with login incorrect.

    Looking at the logs, i see that the domain resolves to the right IP, but then comes up with trying to log in to the first domain on the IP!

    Looking at IP usage in WHM i see that there has been an entry created under the IP for [ftp: ftp.domain1.com,ftp.domain2.com]

    This seems to tie in with what i see in the ftp log.

    Anyone know why this has happened and how to get around it?

    Thanks in advance.
    :)
     
  2. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am also having the same problem ... any solutions ??
     
  3. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    I think this is a bug and cPanel is working on it. Have you posted a bug for this yet?
     
  4. rusko

    rusko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    just edit the configs by hand. in proftpd.conf make sure that the first domain for every ip uses passwd.vhosts
     
  5. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I tweaked the proftpd.conf file until I was blue in the face. No luck.

    Then I used WHM to assign the main shared IP to the account and again to assign the correct IP. WHM updated proftpd.conf (and I think also something else) and solved my problem! ;)
     
  6. SprintSlash

    SprintSlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you using "user" as the username or "user@domain.com" as the username?
     
  7. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The way I read the manula it says if you use a different ip for the resellers they must use ftp like this

    Important: Customers must ftp to ftp.theirdomain.com for ftp to work correctly. They cannot ftp to theirdomain.com if you change their main shared ip. (Note: theirdomain.com should be replaced with the user's actual domain.)

    so ftp://ftptheirdomain.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page