The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ftp backup Temp direcotry usage

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by doubleg, Sep 26, 2008.

  1. doubleg

    doubleg Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Folks.

    I'm looking for a way to change the temp directory that is used for packing accounts up prior to ftping the accounts off the server, while using the ftp method of backups.

    From what I can see it appears that the current temporary directory is located in /home/cpbackuptmp/

    I'd like to modify this, I'm sure its possible, I just don't know where the configuration file is located to make the change... anyone have any clues?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only method at this time is to modify the /scripts/cpbackup file directly. I have reported this to our developers though as usage of /home can cause issues.
     
  3. almecho

    almecho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2nd that motion.

    While I hate to be a thread necromancer I'd like to see this added as a configuration option, and surely it would be trivial to do.
     
  4. felatio

    felatio Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What happened with this feature ?

    Its pretty dumb to have this hard coded on that script, this really needs to be a configurable option.

    Im having big problems with the /home/cpbackuptmp thing , it fills my .home directory while running backups ... a killer !

    HELP !?

    I know i can fix it by changing it manually but nightly updates probably will mess with this ???
     
  5. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Try this: vi /scripts/cpbackup

    Find the rows ( around 380..400 ) with this and change the location to were you want it to happen.

    mkdir( "/home/cpbackuptmp", 0711 );
    chmod( 0711, "/home/cpbackuptmp" );
    $basedir = "/home/cpbackuptmp";

    Save it and protect the file for being overwritten by the nightly upgrade as follow.

    chattr +i /scripts/cpbackup ( -i to let it overwrite again )

    you can test it with running the backup script with.

    /scripts/cpbackup --force
     
Loading...

Share This Page