The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Backup User

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by cpane1, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi All,

    I was setting up FTP backup for one of my VPS client where I created a user on a remote server using the command:

    useradd xyz
    passwd xyz

    On the clients VPS (whm) I configured the FTP backup user...

    But when I ran the /scripts/cpbackup...

    It gave me the authentication failed error in the logs....

    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)<<< 331 User xyz OK. Password required
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)>>> PASS ....
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)<<< 530 Login authentication failed
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)>>> QUIT


    but the issue got resolved when I deleted the user xyz on remote server and created a new account on the remote server (create a new account)...

    FTP just worked...

    My question is what did I left out in my first attempt ?
    why 'useradd xyz' did not worked for me, why did I had to created a cpanel user?...
     
  2. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    is my question that tough ?? or is it something no one has came across such issue..
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you use useradd at the command line, you are only adding a Unix user, completely bypassing all cPanel scripts and mechanisms that create a corresponding FTP account etc.

    Using useradd at the command line often has unintended consequences, such as the above.
     
  4. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello cPanelDavidG,

    Thanks for writing in..

    So what do you suggest the best way to create a unixuser + a ftp user at one go...

    or do I have to create the user from WHH > create a new account...which I don't think is a good idea as it will create the un-necessary domain.....

    Regards,
    cPane1®
     
    #4 cpane1, Aug 25, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want a method that will not create adverse side-effects in the future, I recommend creating a cPanel user. However, you can use a domain that will never be used (e.g. example.com) and create the accounts as subdomains of that domain in WHM (e.g. user1.example.com) to avoid confusing these accounts for actual customer accounts.
     
  6. dannydesiliva

    dannydesiliva Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    FTP backup of an 8300 Control Center

    I have tried this to. For some reason no matter what I try, the backup ends up being written on the FTProot which is on the C: drive and it kills disk space on C:

    Thanks..

    __________________________________________________________________________________________________

    purchase wine | pass hair drug test | Medical alert systems
     
    #6 dannydesiliva, Sep 5, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page