Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

FTP Backup User

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by cpane1, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi All,

    I was setting up FTP backup for one of my VPS client where I created a user on a remote server using the command:

    useradd xyz
    passwd xyz

    On the clients VPS (whm) I configured the FTP backup user...

    But when I ran the /scripts/cpbackup...

    It gave me the authentication failed error in the logs....

    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)<<< 331 User xyz OK. Password required
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)>>> PASS ....
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)<<< 530 Login authentication failed
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x81dd040)>>> QUIT


    but the issue got resolved when I deleted the user xyz on remote server and created a new account on the remote server (create a new account)...

    FTP just worked...

    My question is what did I left out in my first attempt ?
    why 'useradd xyz' did not worked for me, why did I had to created a cpanel user?...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    is my question that tough ?? or is it something no one has came across such issue..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you use useradd at the command line, you are only adding a Unix user, completely bypassing all cPanel scripts and mechanisms that create a corresponding FTP account etc.

    Using useradd at the command line often has unintended consequences, such as the above.
     
  4. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello cPanelDavidG,

    Thanks for writing in..

    So what do you suggest the best way to create a unixuser + a ftp user at one go...

    or do I have to create the user from WHH > create a new account...which I don't think is a good idea as it will create the un-necessary domain.....

    Regards,
    cPane1®
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 cpane1, Aug 25, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want a method that will not create adverse side-effects in the future, I recommend creating a cPanel user. However, you can use a domain that will never be used (e.g. example.com) and create the accounts as subdomains of that domain in WHM (e.g. user1.example.com) to avoid confusing these accounts for actual customer accounts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice