The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp cannot login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seahorse, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    all of the sudden my user not able to ftp into their account.

    I tried to use /scripts/ftpup --force to reinstall the ftp.


    But i got the following error:

    Resetting pure-ftpd to cPanel Defaults and Installing the Latest Version
    Failed to download
    http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/pure-ftpd//redhat/9/pure-ftpd-1.0.20-17.tls.i386.rpm
    .. using source instead
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    installed: rpm-4.2-0.69.9.swsoft
    installed: rpm-build-4.2-0.69.9.swsoft
    unknown package db-devel (ok)
    installed: gdbm-devel-1.8.0-20
    unknown package db1-devel (ok)
    installed: compat-db-3.3.11-4
    unknown package ndbm-devel (ok)
    Building RPM....Done
    error: cannot open pure-ftpd.src.rpm: No such file or directory
    Failed to build rpm at /scripts/ftpup line 347.


    Currently,
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-S114
    RedHat 9 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Please advise.
     
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try /scripts/upcp --force

    :)
     
  3. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Try the command :-
    /scripts/upcp
    and
    /scripts/ftpup pure-ftpd --force

    Hope this will help you.
     
  4. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i've tried

    /scripts/upcp --force

    /scripts/ftpup pure-ftpd --force

    and tried switching in WHM to ProFTP...

    all gives the same error no such file ... for ProFTP and Pure ftp.

    Building RPM....Done
    error: cannot open pure-ftpd.src.rpm: No such file or directory
    Failed to build rpm at /scripts/ftpup line 347.



    is it because it fail to download from
    Failed to download .. http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/p...17.tls.i386.rpm
     
  5. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    I would suggest you to install Ftp server manually on your server. As its not that all difficult to install Ftp manually and it requires only few commands and little changes in ftp configuration file as per your requirements.
     
  6. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    if i am successful in installing ftp manually...
    how can i link to cpanel ? so that when user create ftp account via cpanel or change password via cpanel... it will reflect to the manually installed ftp?
     
  7. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    I guess thats little difficult to link manually installed Ftp with cPanel. You need to seek some experts opinion on it. But if you still need steps to install Pure-Ftp manually, I can forward you that.

    Sorry "seahorse" for not helping you throughout. :(
     
  8. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks Shekhar.

    after much thinking i think it is not a good idea to install ftp manually as i do not know how to link it to cpanel....


    hopefully there are others who can provide more advise with regards to this problem.

    i've been forced update ftp, cpanel, many times, tried switching to ProFTP but still cant work...

    user are able to login into cpanel but totally got 530 authentication error when trying to login ftp...
     
  9. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    503 authentication error - try username@account.tld to login not just username.

    :)
     
    #9 Izzee, Jan 13, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2006
  10. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    You mean pureftp or proftpd is installed fine.. But the users are not able to ftp ?
    If that is the case it is worth checking the shell and try changing it and see if that makes any difference.
     
  11. flash7

    flash7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    same error on my server...
     
  12. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have you tried switching the ftp program from one to the other and then testing?
     
  13. flash7

    flash7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No,
    resolved with

    /scripts/ftpup pure-ftpd --force
    .....
    .....
    ftpserver started ok
    Install Complete


    Thanks
     
  14. jdatwood

    jdatwood Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same problem. Old accounts work just fine but new accounts cannot login.

    I've tried every suggestion in the 4 or 5 threads that have reported this issue all the way back to last August. NOTHING seems to work at this point... :mad:
     
  15. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Some one will help you better only if you post the error you get.
     
  16. myBox

    myBox Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem

    I fixed it using "Synchronize FTP Passwords" from WHM

    duh!

    but why is it not reflecting the password automatically? becasue I am testing with normal users not hosting users, in other words, users that I created manually using: adduser username, from the shell.

    regards.
     
  17. DalQuest

    DalQuest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The password file for cpanel's FTP installs is not the same as the system password file. WHY? No idea. The password files are stored in /etc/proftpd/(acocuntname) so when you add an account outside of cpanel, like say from the commandline, it is only updating the system passwd file and the ftp daemon isn't going to be looking there for a password. That is the function of the 'sync ftp passwords' link in WHM.

    -D-
     
  18. dinfiesta

    dinfiesta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    This, did not work.
    I had to restart ftp service...then it worked.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page