The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP configuration

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by neenach2002, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can I configure FTP access so that it is limited to the directory an account exists in?

    Ex: If I create an account in WHM named 'test', how do I restrict FTP access to only the directory '/home/test/'?
     
  2. Alexandre Duran

    Alexandre Duran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - BRAZIL
    Hummmm... this restrict rule is instaled by default.
    What is your FTP program (proftp or pureftp) ?

    If is pureFTP (better then proftp - MUCH BETTER) verify de conf file:

    vi /etc/pure-ftpd.conf

    Search the line :

    ChrootEveryone

    Put YES:

    ChrootEveryone yes

    Save and restart pureftp.
     
  3. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm using PureFTP. For some reason it allows me to view the root directories when I login with an account other than root in FTP.

    ChrootEveryone is already set to yes.
     
  4. Alexandre Duran

    Alexandre Duran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - BRAZIL
  5. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes.

    It is commented out.
     
  6. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also, I cannot update to the latest STABLE build of cPanel.
     
  7. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm in need of help here....o.o'
     
  8. autumnwalker

    autumnwalker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    make sure stable is selected in the Server Setup > Update config

    in root type /scripts/upcp --force
     
  9. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to get rid of the error message so that I can update through WHM instead of through shell?

    How do I fix my FTP issue?
     
  10. ozarkhost

    ozarkhost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    please check /etc/proftpd
    inside this directory there should be files for usernames nano one of the usernames you should see some info and a dir for access for each login.
     
  11. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am using Pure-ftp.
     
  12. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I add an FTP account in cPanel and set it up with a new directory, it doesn't show up in cPanel.

    Is there any way to wipe out all FTP files and start over from scratch?
     
    #12 neenach2002, Jan 26, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2005
  13. Elliot

    Elliot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sounds like you need to check your configuration and undo what you did to it.
     
  14. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nothing was changed in any way.
     
    #14 neenach2002, Jan 26, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2005
  15. neenach2002

    neenach2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am useing ProFTP. I go into the directory /etc/proftpd/. There are only 3 user files there. I have 6 accounts setup through WHM.

    How do I keep users restricted to their own account? And why are there only 3 files if there are 6 accounts?
     
Loading...

Share This Page