The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP enable, where ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by design611, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. design611

    design611 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried using my FTP app to get into server but it kept timing out.
    I contacted my hosting provider who told me that FTP on C-panel
    needs to enabled.

    Can someone advise screen by screen where I can enable this.

    Thx
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    do you have root access to the server are are you just a cpanel user
     
  3. design611

    design611 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    FTP enable, where ? (fixed)

    After further review I went into

    [Restart Services]

    DNS Server (BIND)
    E-Commerce Server (Interchange)
    FTP Server (ProFTPd/PureFTPd) <-------------------
    HTTP Server (Apache)
    IMAP Server (uwimap)
    Mail Server (Exim)
    POP3 Server (cppop)
    SQL Server (MySQL)
    SSH Server (OpenSSH)

    Then restarted it. Now I can access via ftp applications.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you go to
    WHM
    Service Configuration
    Service Manager
    and check monitor

    it will restart if it fails
     
  5. mameragex

    mameragex Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can you tell if you have root acess?

    The cpanel sevice name and password was givin to me from a previous admin. But when I try to ftp I get a password error

    And the "ftp manager" in accounts doesn't allow me to get the access files "503 login incorrect"

    What does this mean?
     
  6. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there a reason why I wouldn't want to monitor everything that the server uses? I mean, is it a resource hog, or is there anything else that might cause a problem if I were to do this?

    thanks,
    json
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you would own the dedicated server If not contact your host


    we monitor everthing thats running
     
  8. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much!

    thanks,
    json
     
Loading...

Share This Page