Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

FTP enable, where ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by design611, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. design611

    design611 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I tried using my FTP app to get into server but it kept timing out.
    I contacted my hosting provider who told me that FTP on C-panel
    needs to enabled.

    Can someone advise screen by screen where I can enable this.

    Thx
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    do you have root access to the server are are you just a cpanel user
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. design611

    design611 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    FTP enable, where ? (fixed)

    After further review I went into

    [Restart Services]

    DNS Server (BIND)
    E-Commerce Server (Interchange)
    FTP Server (ProFTPd/PureFTPd) <-------------------
    HTTP Server (Apache)
    IMAP Server (uwimap)
    Mail Server (Exim)
    POP3 Server (cppop)
    SQL Server (MySQL)
    SSH Server (OpenSSH)

    Then restarted it. Now I can access via ftp applications.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you go to
    WHM
    Service Configuration
    Service Manager
    and check monitor

    it will restart if it fails
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mameragex

    mameragex Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    How can you tell if you have root acess?

    The cpanel sevice name and password was givin to me from a previous admin. But when I try to ftp I get a password error

    And the "ftp manager" in accounts doesn't allow me to get the access files "503 login incorrect"

    What does this mean?
     
  6. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Is there a reason why I wouldn't want to monitor everything that the server uses? I mean, is it a resource hog, or is there anything else that might cause a problem if I were to do this?

    thanks,
    json
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you would own the dedicated server If not contact your host


    we monitor everthing thats running
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thank you very much!

    thanks,
    json
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice