The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP error when using ws_ftp pro

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fishfreek, Feb 8, 2006.

  1. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a client whom is having issues uploading via FTP. The server is using pure_ftp and they are using wsftp pro version 2006 The error they get is "Connection Locked by other client" They say their uploading just one file at a time and only connected to the ftp server once.
     
  2. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The same user has multiple accounts on the server and they have no upload problems on any other account. Just one particular account on the system. THey also get the following errors.

    Im not sure why its trying to connect to those high ports vs port 21.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's connecting to ephemeral ports because they're using PASV mode FTP - which they should. Sounds like a misconfigured firewall that's not correctly performing SPI.
     
  4. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Misconfigured firewall on whos part? The server side or teh client side? The thing is this person can ftp files all day long on other accounts ont he same server.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's odd then. That could suggest that either:

    1. Are they connecting to the right server for that account?

    2. Are the FTP setup details identical in their FTP clients for the other connections as with this one. Perhaps this has PASV enablbed where the others don't, etc?

    3. Have you checked their disk quota for the account to be sure that they haven't strayed near or over to it?
     
  6. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They are well under the quota as the accounts set with no quota. Im sure they are connecting to the right server as they are able to upload some files and those files do appear in the account its after lets say 5 or so files that they start getting these errors. Ill have them confirm that every setting is exact between the profiles.
     
Loading...

Share This Page