The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chriz1977, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    For some reason users cannot access their sites via ftp. they get an incorrect login error. They can access cpanel and file manager ok, its just ftp thats causing a problem.

    Anyone got any ideas?

    Cheers
    Chriz
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can they login using user@domain.com instead of user? If so this is a known bug in cPanel 11 that we're having a hard time replicating on our own servers.
     
  3. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep, thats the problem. At least thee is a way round it for now.
     
  4. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i switched to pro instead of pure and at least they can use the old way is easier than explain that username had changed to hundred of domains...
     
  5. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That didnt work for me. I guess i have a lot of emails to send.
     
  6. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you sure wont work?

    in whm as root there is ftp configuration link

    this can be used to switch from pure-ftp to pro

    after this you can close you ftp client and connect again

    as username and not username@domain.com

    for me it worked in 3 servers with this problem

    stable 13517 version

    regards

    claudio
     
  7. vetwebhosting

    vetwebhosting Registered

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am running cPanel v11 and all of sudden today, my ftp client times out at the LIST command. Was fine until I forced and update via WHM this afternoon to fix and email issue that was created by another WHM update.
     
  8. Misiek

    Misiek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same issue, changing to pro and back to pure did not helped, strange thing is that in cpanel i see quota 0.00MB, then i erase user, create user again and for example it shows 68.00MB and its starting to work is there any solution for this?? Im running latest RELEASE
     
  9. Rooter

    Rooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Have any of you tried forcing a reinstall of the FTP server?

    Code:
    
    /scripts/ftpup --force
    
    
    I'm not sure what initially caused it, but when a client experienced that issue last week I was able to fix it by running the above command.
     
  10. Misiek

    Misiek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope that did not helped me, and also upgrading today to the latest release was also not helpfull
     
  11. aristile

    aristile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also having problems

    Hello I am having the same problems with my server. I have already done the following:

    1. Upgraded to cPanel 11.4.18-RELEASE 14158
    2. Switched to Proftpd then back to Pureftpd (as suggested). Tried to login with just the user name each time with no luck.
    3. Tried to run the following: /scripts/ftpup --force


    The FTP users still cannot login using just their username, they have to use @domain.com for the login to work. Can someone please help me to figure this out? Is there any additional setting/configuration that I can check/try to get this resolved?
     
  12. billy79

    billy79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having the same problem as those above. So far on only one server, but it connects fine but then freezes up on the list command.

    Any help or bug fix on this is greatly appreciated.
     
  13. aristile

    aristile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there something else I can try/do/check to fix this problem?
     
  14. Simsen

    Simsen Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Switching to ProFTPd worked for me. It really is a shame because I would like to continue using PureFTPd.

    Is there an open support ticket on this matter?

    At least it works now.
     
  15. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pure-Ftp uses the base cpanel login name if logging into the main
    primary login username for any account.

    If you are logging into an add-on user's FTP then you must use the
    domain name with the login name in the form of "login@domain"

    Main Login .... just the username

    Add On Login ..... username@domain
     
  16. webcloaker

    webcloaker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep same here,

    This problem just started today, and we have been driving ourselves nuts trying to figure out a fix.
     
  17. aristile

    aristile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still no luck for me...

    I'm pretty sure I've tried every suggestion in this thread at least 3 times each and still cannot solve my problem. It appears I am clearly not alone either. Is there anyone out there that can solve this problem?
     
  18. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Are you running 11.x or 10.x ?
     
  19. aristile

    aristile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Versions

    Currently I am running:

    WHM 11.1.0
    cPanel 11.4.19-R14379
     
  20. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you open a ticket yet @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ ?

    If so please PM me the #?

    Dev hasn't received any of these up the chain as they were all fixed in level 2 or below AFAIK.
     
Loading...

Share This Page