The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp.md.com returns "There is no website configured at this address."

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MatthewDoucette, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. MatthewDoucette

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My website, with the "ftp" sub-domain name, returns cPanel's standard "There is no website configured at this address" error page:

    http://ftp.matthewdoucette.com/

    Where in cPanel do I fix this?
     
    #1 MatthewDoucette, Mar 25, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  2. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I do beleive that `ftp` is reserved and cannot be created as a subdomain. If you try `ftp://ftp.matthewdoucette.com/` You will get a different error than the one you see for `http://ftp.matthewdoucette.com/`

    If you were looking to add a subdomain for public users to visit, then you are better off using something like `downloads.yourdomain.com` or `files.yourdomain.com`

    Hope That Helps
     
  3. MatthewDoucette

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You are right.

    I am never going to have ftp'ing on my domain name, I just want the error to go away to be "more professional". :) To state the obvious, http://ftp.microsoft.com/ does not return a cPanel error page for instance!

    Oh, and the result for ftp://ftp.matthewdoucette.com/ is fine. This type of error does not bother me.
     
  4. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    True, but what are the odds that Microsoft would be running cPanel :rolleyes:
     
  5. MatthewDoucette

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Of course! :) The point was simply that it is unprofessional to have such error pages!
     
  6. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I fail to see how a error page is un-professional. It preforms a intended duty it advises there is a problem with the page your trying to access.

    If a error page showing up bothers you then fix the site where it works
     
  7. MatthewDoucette

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    An error page is not unprofessional.

    Exactly. This is what it is supposed to do, and I agree with that.

    This is exactly my intent.

    To clarify what I said, I was only speaking about certain types of error pages being unprofessional, not all of them. Error pages, generally speaking, are not unprofessional. However, this type of error page is. This type of error page is not. Hope this clears up my intentions/opinons.
     
  8. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :D ok i misunderstood where you were going with that

    cpanel offers a setting where you can edit the error pages to best suit your needs inside each individual web sites control panel
     
  9. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I misunderstood too.. But after reading it all again, there is no setting to resolve this error:

    And I am not sure where to configure that.

    I have multiple sites, on the same server. All shared IP accounts have that page for http://ftp.domain.com/, however when the account is on a dedicated IP it shows the site as normal. I have no idea where to configure that. A quick review of my httpd.conf showed no traces of ftp.domain.com.
     
  10. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well shoot i edited my reply to indicate where but evidently it didn't post

    in the individual sites cpanel there is a icon for error pages and once in there you can customize each of the different response error pages
     
  11. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Again, There is no setting for the specifed error. The cPanel error pages cover the following: 401, 402, 403, 404, 500 Errors only, It has no setting for There is no website configured at this address.
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That comes from the index.html file located in /usr/local/apache/htdocs

    That is used for ALL dns host names that are not configured in apache to resolve.

    Unfortunatly it is one file for the entire server.
     
  13. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ErrorDocument 400 /400.shtml
    ErrorDocument 401 /401.shtml
    ErrorDocument 403 /403.shtml
    ErrorDocument 404 /404.shtml
    ErrorDocument 500 /500.shtml

    This is the section in the httpd.conf that defines what page is shown for each error

    design a page and name it <number>.shtml and upload it into /usr/local/apache/htdocs and also edit the /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index.html

    that should give you a set of custom error pages
     
    #13 dave9000, Mar 26, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2005
  14. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is not what the user requested. If you have followed the links he posts you would see that he has a custom 404 already, and is aware of those customizations.

    dgbaker has pointed out the file, however it is a server wide page that is used by every account on the server.
     
  15. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    this will let him change the ugly default ones for when there is not a custom one

    yes i did read and follow evidently you didn't
     
  16. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just so everyone is clear, there are two main types of error pages.

    These are the user customizable ones.

    ErrorDocument 400 /400.shtml
    ErrorDocument 401 /401.shtml
    ErrorDocument 403 /403.shtml
    ErrorDocument 404 /404.shtml
    ErrorDocument 500 /500.shtml


    This is for server owner only to change and effects ALL incorrect DNS calls for site names that do not exist in apache such as the http://ftp.domain.com ones.

    /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index.html
    There is no website configured at this address.
     
  17. MatthewDoucette

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry for the unclarity of my intentions. I should have been more precise in my ask for help.

    Thanks for the idea of changing the index.html itself. I never thought of that. But, I do not have the rights to change that file as I do not control the server. :(

    By the way, I handle all my 400, 401, 403, 404, and 500 errors via a manually edited .htaccess file that points the errors to 400.html, 401.html, etc. I assumed there must be an easy way to do the same for the ftp subdomain error page, either in cPanel or manually.
     
Loading...

Share This Page