The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp no access to /home to put a fullbackup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by fly_in_the_sky, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I have a fullbackup from my old cpanel (mavenhosting).
    I want to restaur it.
    I have now a server by GANDI, and i put cpanel and WHM

    I read that i have to put the fullbackup on the /home dictories, but i can't because, i don't found a ftp acces to put it there.
    I creat new user, with ftp access, but my acces only go there : /home/username/

    How can i have full acces to / or /home ????

    How ca, i put my backup in good place ?
    Tanks you
    Nicolas
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't. You need root access for that, and you need root access to restore a full backup.
    Contact your hosting provider, they can restore the account.
     
  3. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.
    I have root acces. I install cpanel over centos6 . I have all so acces to whm.
    Please help me.
     
  4. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    cPanel offer most convenient method to do cPanel to cPanel transfer.
    Login to your new server WHM and navigate to:
    Now regarding FTP, you cannot use FTP protocol. You need to login using SFTP.
    In filezilla ,
    and select SFTP as protocol.
     
  5. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, You can restore your account backup from your user home directory with the root user access.

    First upload your backup file in your user home directory (/home/username/) and then access your server through SSH with the root user and try to execute the following command

    Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg /home/username/BACKUP_FILE_NAME.tar.gz 
     
  6. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hello,
    thanks for your help...
    It's look like working... The backup is ok now i have to see if all working like before...
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to hear the issue is now resolved. Thank you for letting us know the solution provided worked for you.
     
  8. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I use
    as root

    And it work well
     
Loading...

Share This Page