Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

ftp no access to /home to put a fullbackup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by fly_in_the_sky, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I have a fullbackup from my old cpanel (mavenhosting).
    I want to restaur it.
    I have now a server by GANDI, and i put cpanel and WHM

    I read that i have to put the fullbackup on the /home dictories, but i can't because, i don't found a ftp acces to put it there.
    I creat new user, with ftp access, but my acces only go there : /home/username/

    How can i have full acces to / or /home ????

    How ca, i put my backup in good place ?
    Tanks you
    Nicolas
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't. You need root access for that, and you need root access to restore a full backup.
    Contact your hosting provider, they can restore the account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.
    I have root acces. I install cpanel over centos6 . I have all so acces to whm.
    Please help me.
     
  4. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    cPanel offer most convenient method to do cPanel to cPanel transfer.
    Login to your new server WHM and navigate to:
    Now regarding FTP, you cannot use FTP protocol. You need to login using SFTP.
    In filezilla ,
    and select SFTP as protocol.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, You can restore your account backup from your user home directory with the root user access.

    First upload your backup file in your user home directory (/home/username/) and then access your server through SSH with the root user and try to execute the following command

    Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg /home/username/BACKUP_FILE_NAME.tar.gz 
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hello,
    thanks for your help...
    It's look like working... The backup is ok now i have to see if all working like before...
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,435
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am happy to hear the issue is now resolved. Thank you for letting us know the solution provided worked for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I use
    as root

    And it work well
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice