The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Final-Solution, Aug 26, 2002.

  1. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I moved all my accounts to a new IP, now when I connect it says

    ftp& open ftp.site2.com
    Connected to 209.51.241.103 (209.51.241.103).
    220 ProFTPD 1.2.4 Server (ftp.site1.com) [209.51.241.103]
    Name (site2.com:root): site2
    331 Password required for site2
    Password:
    530 Login incorrect.
    Login failed.

    site1 is the first account i created on that IP, I can log into ftp with that account, but none of the other accounts on that IP will work. I resynched the FTP passwords

    &Ftp Password Files synced
    &Vhost Passwords synced

    and restarted the FTPd

    &Attempting to restart proftpd
    &proftpd status -& proftpd (pid 22407) is running...
    &proftpd started ok

    Is there something I'm missing? Why does it list the first account when I try to login? I can also log in anonymously to any of the accounts . . which is useless when trying to build a web site.

    help! :P
     
  2. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is what the ftpd.conf looks like

    &VirtualHost 209.51.241.103&
    ExtendedLog /etc/httpd/domlogs/ftp.site2.com-ftpbytes_log READ BytesL$
    TransferLog /etc/httpd/domlogs/ftp.site2.com-ftp_log
    ServerName ftp.site2.com
    AuthUserFile /etc/proftpd/site2
    MaxClients 3 &Sorry, this ftp server has reached its maximum user co$
    DirFakeGroup On ftpgroup
    DirFakeUser On ftpuser
    DefaultRoot ~
    &Directory /&
    AllowOverwrite on
    HideGroup wheel
    HideUser root
    &/Directory&
    &Anonymous /home/site2/public_ftp&
    UseFtpUsers on
    RequireValidShell off
    UseFtpUsers on
    RequireValidShell off
    User ftp
    Group ftp
    UserAlias anonymous ftp
    DisplayLogin welcome.msg
    DisplayFirstChdir .message
    &Limit WRITE&
    DenyAll
    &/Limit&
    &Directory incoming&
    &Limit STOR&
    AllowAll
    &/Limit&
    &Limit WRITE READ&
    DenyAll
    &/Limit&
    &/Directory&
    &/Anonymous&
    &/VirtualHost&

    Has this happened to anyone before? Do I have to set something I'm unaware of when I switch the IPs over for it to actually work, it appears to me that going to site2.com goes to the IP, which site1 is the first account on .. so it goes to site1's auth instead?
     
  3. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    looking closer it appears to be going to the second account listed under &show IP address usage& instead of the first, i tried to cut n paste the /proftpd/ password stuff from site3 to site2 but it gives Login failure instead of Login Incorrect

    any FTPd gurus out there?
     
  4. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    this problem has bit me tonight. I changed a true IP to a shared IP and when I try to ftp to that shared IP the ftp server says hello with that domain I just moved to the shared IP. Before it used to say hello as the firs account.

    Help!!!!!!!!!!!

    it looks like the script ran through the proftpd.conf and changed the IP to the shared IP and did the same thing to my domainips file.

    I have tried editing everythng I can think of ..help me please :-(
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    OK ..here is what happens to me when I change a IP based to a shared IP.

    1st

    proftpd.conf --- the domain-with-ip.com in there gets deleted from the file. It then gets added at the bottom with the shared IP like it was a IP based account.

    2nd

    domainips file:

    where I have my main IP assigned to a domain name it gets overwritten with the domain I moved to the shared IP. Teh shared IP isn't listed but once. The domain I moved that was in this file , that line gets deleted also. so what I have is this.

    xxx.xxx.xxx.10: maindomain.com
    xxx.xxx.xxx.11: another-trueIP.com
    xxx.xxx.xxx.12: true-ip-domain-i-am-moving.com

    when I change to shared ip I get.

    xxx.xxx.xxx.10: true-ip-domain-i-am-moving.com
    xxx.xxx.xxx.11: another-trueIP.com


    I have about 50 Ips I want to get rid of and go shared. Do I have to edit these files every time?
     
Loading...

Share This Page