The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Only Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alanpollenz, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    I have identified roughly 50 small home based businesses in my area that have indicated an interest in remote backup services via FTP.

    I would like to give each business its own account on my server with a specific amount of disk space/bandwidth. I do NOT want to set up a separate domain for each, but would prefer to use an IP based address, like:

    http://123.123.123.123/~biz1
    http://123.123.123.123/~biz2

    and so on.

    I have tried to set up packages and create account in WHM, but have been unable to do it without a domain name being entered.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how best to proceed?

    Thanks.

    Alan Pollenz
     
  2. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    Anyone? Bueller?
     
  3. ujr

    ujr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you don't even need cpanel for that. just use a stripped down apache box, with no services running except what you truly need, and set up regular ftp users, each having their own directory.
     
  4. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    Except that I need a cPanel package to automate the account creation process when users purchase an account using ModernBill.
     
  5. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can use any dummy domains thats binded to that IP addresses or a true domain with hundreds of users.

    There is no need to setup sub-domains for them but only ftp accounts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page