The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Passwords stop working randomly

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by derekivey, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. derekivey

    derekivey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey guys,

    I've run into this problem on my server where at random times the FTP server just stops letting any user in. It just gives me a 530 Login authentication failed error. When I reboot the server it seems to fix it, but restarting the ftp service doesn't fix it. Also if I just let it go and wait awhile it works fine again. Does anyone know what could be wrong? I also wanted to mention that all accounts are still able to login to cPanel fine during this time.

    Thanks,

    Derek
     
  2. andyaav

    andyaav Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have you tried
    WHM -> Synchronize FTP Passwords

    If you are using pure-ftpd then switch to Proftpd.

    Main >> Service Configuration >> FTP Configuration
    Switch to Proftpd

    hope it will help..
     
  3. derekivey

    derekivey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, I have tried resynchronizing the passwords but that didn't fix it. I will try switching to proftpd and see if that fixes it.

    Thanks,
    Derek
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that is all that needs be done and restart FTP server process!

    That is BAD ADVICE !!!!

    Proftpd is not only a resource hog but it is also riddled
    with hundreds of security vulnerabilities that still remain
    despite numerous attempts by the manufacturer to close
    some of those security holes.

    Anyone running Proftpd may as well set their root password
    to their server to "password" or "abc123" for all it's worth
    because if you are running ProFTPd, then your server
    has very serious open security issues!
     
  5. vincentg

    vincentg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    new york
    The cure is to switch to pro and then back to pure ftp
     
  6. derekivey

    derekivey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried switching to proftpd and back to pureftpd and that didn't fix it :(.

    I also synchronized the ftp passwords as well.

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem here. I tried

    /ftpup --force, upcp --force, chang to stable and back do release, chage to proftp and back to pureftp

    This is more one of the mysterious problems of the cpanel updates. that is incredible.

    I have 8 cpanel servers, all with the same FTP problem.
    The cpanel is going me crazy.

    This is the error:

     
    #7 duranduran, Jul 10, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2007
  8. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Fix

    Well, this fix for me, maybe fix for others... In my case this is a APF/Monolithic kernel problem.

    Try this, in the /etc/pure_ftpd.conf uncoment the line

    #PassivePortRange 35000 35999


    And save. In the /etc/apf.conf change the line:

    SET_MONOKERN="1" to SET_MONOKERN="0"

    and put the Passive Port Range in the line IG_TCP_CPORTS

    Execute,

    apf -r

    and restart ftp server.
     
  9. derekivey

    derekivey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks! I will give that a try. That is probably the problem with mine too as a I believe I have APF set to monolithic kernel as well.

    Derek
     
  10. strikinado

    strikinado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Who has been fixed this bug?

    I have tryed all in this post but nothing has been resolved.

    Thanks
     
  11. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    lol

    it's turning into a bloody joke.....

    ftp passwords just stop working each time cpanel farts too hard....

    OWM
     
  12. soundguy

    soundguy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    seattle
    I've been fighting this BS for a couple of days now and manged to fix at least one account by modifying the zone file in the DNS records. It seems that some accounts were created with "ftp" pointing to an "A record" containing the IP address assigned to the account and others were created with cnames containing the FQDN instead.

    I have a few hundred accounts spread across a dozen servers. Some are new and some are several years old. Many have been moved several times from server to server and a few date back to cPanel V9x and possibly earlier. I haven't paid that much attention so far, but what I'm seeing now is that the accounts with the random periods of unuseability are the ones that use cnames for FTP. I managed to "cure" one account yesterday by reinstalling bind on the host machine. That didn't fix all of the problem accounts though.


    FWIW, I also had a DNSonly machine in my cluster up until a few minutes ago. It appears to have gotten some kind of 11.x version in the last day or so (it was on 10.x when this mess started) and now seems to be severely broken. It keeps reverting the whole cluster back to a set of records from last week every time a zone file is updated on one of the other machines in the cluster. I killed it and I'll be replacing that name server with one of my other machines that's already in the cluster. DNSonly is currently not ready for production use, it would seem.
     
  13. ipole

    ipole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have started facing the same problem since today. However, I have noticed that if I ssh to the server and ftp to localhost, the user can log in just fine.

    Only in case of remote FTP connections, the auth fails.

    Any clues? I suspect some recent Cpanel updates has caused this problem.

    Regards,
    IPole

    P.S. I have checked my zone files, and found that the FTP record is pointing to the IP and not CNAME.
     
  14. ipole

    ipole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Adding further to my diagnosis, I was able to get the FTP working when I switched to proftpd. On switching back to Pureftpd, it still continues to work fine as of now.

    I dont know if the problem has got solved now, or will recur again though.

    regards,
    IPole
     
  15. Sanehouse

    Sanehouse Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Whenever my FTP client decides to be retarded, I just open My Computer and type into the address bar:

    ftp://username@ftp.hostname

    Example:

    Username = test1
    Hostname = test.com

    It has never failed me yet, but my FTP clients always fail me now...
     
    #15 Sanehouse, Jul 15, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2007
  16. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I happened to me twice luckly, today happened again.
    All ftp accounts gave 530 authentication failed. So I run /scripts/ftpup --force and the problem was fixed.

    Indeed I think there is some cpanel bug over there.

    Thanks!
     
  17. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
  18. activa

    activa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morocco
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the same error ...

    i'm sufring this probleme for so many days ... i have thinked that it was a mine probleme of the server , but it's a cpanel probleme .

    i have another domain installe in separated ip , never has been passed for this probleme , it just with the shared ip .

    also the command /scripts/ftpup --force has no effect for me .
     
    #18 activa, Aug 10, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2007
  19. kodeking

    kodeking Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    forcing the upgrade worked for me too
     
  20. activa

    activa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morocco
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes , now it has been worked for me too ....

    thanks for confirmation .
     
Loading...

Share This Page