The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by desha, Mar 13, 2004.

  1. desha

    desha Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have downloaded both ftp commander and ws-ftp.

    I can connect via FTP commander, no problem, except it doesn't like that I don't have a password. It masks the password, then I keep getting an incorrect login problem.

    So, I try ws-ftp. I can't even connect with this program.

    Anyone have any insight on this?
     
  2. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi desha,

    You can try to connect your FTP Server from prompt using

    c:\> ftp your-domain.com

    Provide the correct username and password to login. If you have no problem logging in. Then there will be no problem in logging via FTP clients like WS-FTP & FTP commander.
    Sometimes you have to provide your username as user@your-domain.com instead of simply giving user. Please have a try with this solution and log in.

    Regards,

    Bright
    :)
     
  3. desha

    desha Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Help Again with FTP please!

    Okay, after looking at the ftp commander closer, i was never connected, it just looked like it. I'm somewhat familiar with ftp transfer, I've used it for all my other websites.

    Here is my problem.

    I tried the cprompt ... i can't figure that out ... i get to the "ftp:>" part, but I don't know how to connect.

    On cpanel, it shows the following:

    user name
    anonymous@mydomain.com
    ftp@mydomain.com
    username_logs@mydomain.com

    I've tried using ftp@mydomain.com to connect via ws-ftp and it gives me this error.

    ! Can't get "ftp@mydomain.com" host entry
    ! Connection failed ftp@mydomain.com

    I just don't understand this ftp manager. It seems quite a bit more difficult than the others that I have used.

    It also says this on the cpanel.
    Ftp Accounts 0 / 1

    Do I need to set up a personal ftp account?

    Thanks again for your help ... sorry if I'm just not seeing something obvious.
     
  4. desha

    desha Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ahhh! I just figured it out!!

    TIA
     
  5. gregorya

    gregorya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    you already tried to connect your server by using the following synthaxe: [f t p : / / u s e r : p a s s w o r d @ f t p . s e r v e r . c o m ] without space.
     
    #5 gregorya, Mar 13, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2004
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Would you care to share your answer with the rest of the class?

    Posting solutions as well as problems makes this forum a better resource. :D

    I was going to ask if you had tried logging in to ftp.domain.com using your username@domain.com ;)
     
  7. desha

    desha Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ooh! I'm sorry, I should have done that.

    This is what worked.

    Host name was: mydomain.com instead of ftp.mydomain.com

    And login was : username@mydomain.com instead of username
     
Loading...

Share This Page