The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sina, Apr 16, 2002.

  1. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi is there a way to not let the servername show upon clients

    loging into FTP ? or at least change it ?

    Thank You
     
  2. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    http://proftpd.linux.co.uk/localsite/Userguide/linked/x317.html
     
  3. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes, but where are the &ServerIdent: lines located at ?

    which file ?

    Thank You
     
  4. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e45dfa910f][i:e45dfa910f]Originally posted by sina[/i:e45dfa910f]

    yes, but where are the &ServerIdent: lines located at ?

    which file ?

    Thank You[/quote:e45dfa910f]


    go to /etc directory

    then open the proftpd.conf file - and define the global directive. You can do that after the ServerName directive.

    ServerIdent Off


    save the file and restart your ftp server

    best regards
    Parag
     
  5. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    We added the ServerIdent Off after the servername line but still no luck

    ?????
     
  6. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    The global directive is this:

    &Global&
    ServerIdent Off
    &/Global&

    I'd point you to the proftpd directive list but it seems they're updating it or something. Anyway that should work.

    (
    It's still in Google's cache:
    http://216.239.37.100/search?q=cache:Nun4Ffj72L4C:www.proftpd.org/docs/directives/linked/config_ref_Global.html
    )
     
  7. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    so what you mean is that all i got to do is:
    after the servername [ProFTPD] in the /etc/proftpd.conf



    &Global&
    ServeIdent off
    &/Global&

    ????

    I really appreciate all you guys so far
     
  8. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0f603c6603][i:0f603c6603]Originally posted by sina[/i:0f603c6603]

    so what you mean is that all i got to do is:
    after the servername [ProFTPD] in the /etc/proftpd.conf



    &Global&
    ServeIdent off
    &/Global&

    ????

    I really appreciate all you guys so far[/quote:0f603c6603]


    hi sina

    are you using dedicated IP for the ftp which you are talking about??? if you are using the shared ip of the main interface eth0 then the global will work for that shared ip of your main server.

    If you have a site which has a dedicated IP address then you will need to find that particular site config in the proftpd.conf and edit it accordingly.

    best regards,
    Parag
     
  9. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes I am talking about the shared IP.

    Thanks guys ive forwarded these to the staff, I'll keep you updated if we still encounter issues.

    I really appreciate your help so far !!

    Thank You
     
  10. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    still no luck guys,

    the messege has changed but the server name still displays

    220 name.domain.net FTP server ready.

    ???????

    what we did was we added these lines to the proftpd.conf

    &Global&
    ServerIdent Off
    &/Global&
     
  11. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    You're right, it doesn't work for the main server's IP...

    :?

    unless you add a VirtualHost directive for that IP, but I'm not sure everything will run fine if one just adds an empty VirtualHost...

    Please let me know if anyone tries or has tried, or if there is a better way to achieve this. Thanks.
     
  12. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd stop
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd start


    ;)
     
  13. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    so how are we suppose to get over this
    change the server name ?
     
  14. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    could somebody whose done this post up his proftpd.conf lines which determin the issues.

    It will be appreciated ! and i did include a empty virtual host for the main IP but still did not work !!

    :( ???
     
  15. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't know why is not working for you:

    The first few lines of your proftpd.conf file should look like this:

    ServerName &ProFTPD&
    AuthUserFile /etc/proftpd/passwd.vhosts
    LogFormat BytesLog &%b&
    ServerType standalone
    DeferWelcome on
    DefaultServer on
    DefaultRoot ~ !wheel


    Then simply make sure you restart proftpd:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd stop
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd start

    This should do the trick :p
     
  16. sina

    sina Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks guys, were thorugh

    We really appreciate all your help

    BERT ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page