The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP says quota exceeded, even though the account has unlimited space defined

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hozyali, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. hozyali

    hozyali Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Through WHM, I reset the disk quota to be unlimited for a user. when connecting from ftp works fine. However I can't upload any file. It gives me the following error message
    "552 Disk full - please upload later
    ERROR:> [2/1/2014 6:55:58 PM] Exceeded storage allocation".

    When I try uploading files from Cpanel > File Manager, it works fine. The above error is appearing when using CuteFTP.

    Please help.

    Thanks
     
  2. robb3369

    robb3369 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would check if your using the main ftp account or an additional user's ftp? If you login with the username only (not user@domain.com), then you shouldn't have this issue, but if you do login with user@domain.com, then the FTP quota is set too low.

    Check the FTP panel from within cPanel and increase (or remove) the quota set:
    Edit an FTP account's quota
     
  3. hozyali

    hozyali Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Thanks for your help and assistance. I am using cpanel account username and the main password which I use to login to the cpanel account.

    I know I can create sub ftp account and have to use with @domainname but in this case, its the main cpanel user.

    thanks
     
  4. robb3369

    robb3369 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check in the /etc directory off your home directory (/home/account/etc) for a file called ftpquota and see if that has the wrong value in it. Mine exists but its empty.
     
  5. hozyali

    hozyali Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is what I have in that file

    30010 10497914080

    not sure how to find out if it has something wrong in it.
     
  6. robb3369

    robb3369 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would move it to ftpquota_old and then touch the ftpquota file to create it as blank:
    Code:
    cd /home/user/etc
    mv ftpquota ftpquota_old
    touch ftpquota
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    If removing the ftpquota file does not help, check to make sure the server itself is not at it's disk space or inodes limit. EX:

    Code:
    df -h
    df -i
    
    Also, make sure the account quota is truly set to unlimited. EX:

    Code:
    quota username
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page