The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Timeout

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tribby, May 12, 2002.

  1. tribby

    tribby Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can I change the FTP timeout from 300 seconds?

    I tried adding

    TimeoutNoTransfer 900
    TimeoutIdle 900

    to /etc/proftpd.conf but that didnt work.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks!

    Jeremy
     
  2. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try adding the following to fix it:

    TimeoutLogin 900

    Edit: Actually I don't think that fixes it. Nick, or anyone else... Please let us know how to fix this. It's quite annoying!
     
  3. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think it caches the configuration somehow. I know I tried everything too at one time, restarting proftp each time and finally gave up, then suddenly it was working and I did nothing but keep the setting in there.

    Wish I knew, it works here though, maybe just wait, leave the setting in there.

    This is what I have:

    TimeoutIdle 1200
    TimeoutNoTransfer 1200
     
  4. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  5. Mary B.

    Mary B. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'd like to change the Idle timeout also, but am having a problem getting to the file. If I try to open /etc/proftpd/ with WS-FTP, I get a 550 proftpd: Permission Denied error. Am I doing it wrong? I'm new at this (as if you couldn't tell!), be gentle!

    Mary
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Lol, you need to log into SSH and edit the file using pico or vi. FTP isn't going to do it for you.
     
  7. Mary B.

    Mary B. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you! I need to learn about SSH, can you recommend any good tutorial sites? The only thing I know how to do with SSH is to import an sql file to an empty database.
     
Loading...

Share This Page