The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP to subdomain is broken

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, Mar 23, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When our users setup ftp to a subdomain They get

    530 Login incorrect
    ftp login failed

    Tests reveal that this is not working. No matter what we do and how many times to create, delete the username and password we are denied access to ftp via a subdomain. Subdomain http://forums.ladida.com with a username of forums and a password denies access.
     
  2. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Shouldn't the username be forums@ladida.com ?
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: FTP to subdomain is broken

    Yes, thats what i said. It is forums. Try it and tell me if you can setup a FTP to a subdomain?
     
  5. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Re: Re: Re: FTP to subdomain is broken

    Ok, I just did.

    If the domain has its own IP, and the subdomain is forums.domain.com, it works with username "forums".

    If the domain is in the shared IP, it works with username "forums@domain.com"

    The password is the password you specify when creating the new FTP account.
     
  6. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: Re: Re: FTP to subdomain is broken

    Are you sure about that? The ftp setup screen does not say anything about including the .tld to connect. I guess that worked.

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page