The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Trouble

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JohnV, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. JohnV

    JohnV Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I just bought the cpanel package via UMC and am having real difficulty FTP'ing (if that is a word) into the site.

    I have confirmed an email address as part of the account setup process but have not recieved an email .

    To be honest this is winding me up as I want to get my site up and running ... there is no help option on my CP Panel either.

    Can anyone help this hopless, happless NEWBIE :D
     
  2. elliotcooper

    elliotcooper Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you could past in the FTP log from your FTP client running on your pc containing the error message it will help a great deal with diagnosing the problem and offering a solution.
     
  3. JohnV

    JohnV Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good idea

    19:48:49] SmartFTP v2.0.996.36
    [19:48:49] Resolving host name "cpanel"
    [19:48:51] Unable to resolve host name.
    [19:48:51] Active Help: http://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/index.php/81
    [19:48:51] Cannot login waiting to retry (30s)...
     
  4. elliotcooper

    elliotcooper Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The problem here looks like you have set:

    cpanel

    as the FTP host name. You should check your setting in your FTP client on your local computer and change this to either the domain name that you are using in you cpanel account or the IP address of the server.

    If that doesn't work past the new error message back in this thread and I'll have another look.
     
Loading...

Share This Page