The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP upload limit of 50MB

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kenashkov, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. kenashkov

    kenashkov Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I just found that after CPanel upgrade a limit of 50MB on the FTP uploads is enforced.
    The server is using Pure FTP. Is there a setting in WHM where I can change this or I should update the pure-ftpd.conf (the quota there atm is disabled).

    Thank you
    Vesko
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I've just checked a few of my addon FTP accounts and don't notice any changes to the existing quotas on them. This is the same place you'd edit the quota.
    cPanel > Files > FTP Accounts

    What did you notice that alerted you to this if I may ask?

    Thanks!
     
  3. kenashkov

    kenashkov Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We noticed this when we tried to upload a file larger than 50megs.
    There are no quotas set. We are using the main account for the domain not a FTP virtual account.
    I would expect there is some setting in WHM we can change to allow unlimited size upload for all users of the system.

    Thank you
    Vesko
     
  4. NetMantis

    NetMantis BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In tweak settings in WHM, check out the "File upload required free space" setting.

    Also may want to see "Interval, in days, between rebuilds of the FTP quota and disk usage data"

    Otherwise, I'd take a look at the quota limits you have setup for that specific FTP user.
     
  5. kenashkov

    kenashkov Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just noticed that the backup is running and it is creating the tar file in the account folder... and this is counting against the quota. I presume this is the issue. I will wait for the backup to complete and try again and let you know the results.

    I checked the "File upload required free space" - it is set to a low value of just 5megs.

    P.S. the FTP user itself doesnt have any limits.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    How much quota does that main user have available?
     
  7. asseroo

    asseroo Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I think a terminal or cpanel could help fix this
     
  8. kenashkov

    kenashkov Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    it seems this is not related to the running backup. The backup is not running anymore and on the other accounts we have the same issue - 50MB upload limit.
    The filesystem quota is not related to the issue.

    Any idea from which software this is enforced?

    Thanks
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hmm, are you by chance uploading thru a PHP script of some sort?
     
  10. kenashkov

    kenashkov Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are doing plain FTP transfer. No php involved (of course the POST limit and max_upload_size can limit it in this case).
    There is possibly some network issue that interrupts the transfer... The strange thing is that for the first 5-6 tests it always stops at exactly 50mb... now I saw it stopping at 53 which makes me think could be a network issue.
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check for a file in /home/username/etc/ called ftpquota to see if that is set. If it is on the account, check if the main user is listed there. If that user is listed, remove that user. I've seen where somehow this was set for the main user in that file and it then limited uploads.
     
Loading...

Share This Page