The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp with firefox

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dom974, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. dom974

    dom974 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Is it possible to enter an url like this one :

    ftp.domain.com or ftp://ftp.domain.com

    and get a box asking for user and pass.
    Currently, this doesn't work, it produces an error.

    The only way to get ftp with Firefox is putting : ftp://user@ftp.domain.com

    But if you would like to offer a single ftp url link, it won't possible ...

    Dominique
     
  2. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    perhaps you may install FireFTP to your Firefox .
     
  3. dom974

    dom974 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was thinking of an easy and universal way for my clients to get access to their ftp, something easily available, cross-platform, without installation ...
     
  4. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. dom974

    dom974 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the link, it's a nice solution indeed.
    But I still search for a puretfpd setting. I know that if you user proftpd you will automatically get this login box just by typing ftp.domain.com. Why not for pureftpd ?
     
  6. dotancohen

    dotancohen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Haifa
    The ftp://ftp.domain.com works for me in Firefox 2.0.0.6 on Ubuntu Linux at my own site, which is running Cpanel. What site are you on? Note that I don't have FTPfox or any related extensions.
     
  7. dom974

    dom974 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got 2.0.0.6 as well (on win xp)

    which cpanel are you running and have you done special settings ?

    thanks

    dominique
     
Loading...

Share This Page