The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ftp without @domain.com

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dgammon, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. dgammon

    dgammon Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wondering if there is a way to access ftp on cpanel (via third party software) to have it where you don't have to have: username@domain.com. Instead, just use the username. For instance, you can use just the username when using the "main" username, but if I set up additional FTP accounts, those people must use "username@domain.com"

    Hope this makes sense.....

    thanks for the help
     
  2. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That would be a horrible idea. Then that would mean that there could be only one peter, one john, one admin, etc. on the entire server. If you get even 50 customers, each having 5 ftp sub accounts, thats 250 ftp accounts, and then they would statrt to overlap at some point.

    Possible sure, but very Bad idea
     
  3. dgammon

    dgammon Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, this is my case: there is a client that I host that doesn't want to put in the @domain.com for FTP (can you say pain in the aS$)

    He wants five ftp accounts only having to put in the username and password.

    So let's say in WS_FTP he would put ftp://whateverdomain.com then username: "username" and password: "password" instead of having to put:

    username: "username@whateverdomain.com" password: "password"

    See what I mean? is there a way to do this? The limitation of number of users will only be on his domain if he is ftp'ing to ftp://whateverdomain.com right?

    Is there a way?

    Thanks
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Not on a standard installation no - it doesn't matter which domain you come in on.

    However, if you have the customer on a dedicated IP address and running proftpd, then you can do this.

    At the bottom of your /etc/proftpd.conf file add a VirtualHost directive using the IP address for this account (replace 11.22.33.44) and their main account username (replace username):
    Code:
    <VirtualHost 11.22.33.44>
            AuthUserFile /etc/proftpd/username
            DefaultRoot ~ !wheel
    </VirtualHost>
    Then, stop and restart proftpd:
    /etc/init.d/proftpd stop
    /etc/init.d/proftpd start

    Remember - They must be on their own IP address. You can actually achieve this with a shared IP address, but the VirtualHost would have to run on a different port to 21 (e.g. 2121) and the user would have to change their FTP client to use this port instead of the standard one. To do that you would need to add the Port 2121 directive inside the VirtualHost container.
     
    #4 chirpy, Jun 12, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2004
  5. dgammon

    dgammon Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you chirpy!
     
Loading...

Share This Page