Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

FTPS on specific port

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimlongo, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have in my pure-ftp.config
    Code:
    # Port range for passive connections - keep it as broad as possible.
    PassivePortRange 49152 65534
    
    # Force an IP address in PASV/EPSV/SPSV replies. - for NAT.
    # Symbolic host names are also accepted for gateways with dynamic IP
    # addresses.
    
    ForcePassiveIP 192.168.0.1
    #ForcePassiveIP ~
    
    Have also tried the above config with ForcePassiveIP ~ as in the docs

    And the range allowed in CSF TCP IN 49152:65534

    If I try to connect FTPS and specify a port in that range it always gets refused.
    I can connect on port 21.

    What do I need to do so my requests on a specific port other than 21 will be allowed?
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jimlongo


    You wouldn't want to change the passive IP range, what you're wanting to do is change the active FTP port it sounds like. What you'll do in this case is change the port number on the line as follows:

    Code:
    Bind 21
    Then restart the ftp server as well as ensure that the new port number is allowed in the firewall.

    Some information on Passive vs Active FTP mode: How to Enable FTP Passive Mode - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    jimlongo likes this.
  3. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Can you tell me what I would edit if I was instead using ProFTP?
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jimlongo

    The line that reads as follows:
    Code:
    Port                            21
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    jimlongo likes this.
  5. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thanks Lauren, they should add this info to that page.
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jimlongo

    Well that page is specifically for configuring Passive FTP which is different than what you wanted to do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice