The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

full back up realy full?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by geefjemening_tk, Dec 31, 2004.

  1. geefjemening_tk

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my hosting is gonna stop and I have to backup everything, I've don the full backup in my cpanel, but are all settings for mail, addon domains and such things saved now also? so if I get an other host, and I put it in my cpanel there, I have everything back?
    Bart
     
  2. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's how it should work, but it's better to be safe than sorry. Restore your backup on the new server and verify that everything is there and working before taking down the original account.
     
  3. geefjemening_tk

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the original is closing in a week, and i dont have a new jet.... but if i've done a full backup, all setting of addon domains and mail adresses are saved now iv everything is backuped right?
    bart
     
  4. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it should be.
     
  5. adataman

    adataman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Backup

    I would be very careful doing a backup, especially if it is the home directory backup..
    What I would suggest is: Make a home directory backup, and then try to do a restore. Apparently cpanel has problems restoring home directory backups, do this first and test before you back everythin up and find out you can't restore properly.
     
    #5 adataman, Jan 2, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page