The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

full Backup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by serverptx, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. serverptx

    serverptx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Aid please! How to make to restore one full Backup in the server?
     
  2. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    End users cannot automatically restore a full backup.

    System Administrators can restore them by using the "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file" feature in root WHM. Just place the compressed backup in one of the mentioned directories and specify the username to restore.
     
  3. serverptx

    serverptx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes I know! But as administrator where and as I must place backup stops later restoring in the administrative panel? Pods to help step by step? Debtor!
     
  4. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The location information is listed on the restore screen itself...

    Place the compressed backup file in one of these directories:

    /home
    /usr/home
    /web
    /home2
    /home3
    /root
    /usr

    (It doesn't matter which location you pick, I usually put mine in /root.)

    Enter the 8 character or less username of the user whose backup file you want to restore in "Enter the username for the account you wish to restore:" and then click "Restore"

    If you've put the full backup file in one of the directories listed above, it will be found and then used for the restore.

    If you get an error you either don't have the full backup in the correct location or you don't actually have a full backup that cPanel can use.
     
  5. serverptx

    serverptx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I go to try! Debtor
     
  6. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    End users should be able to do it if they want to. Ensim has that featue. (of course they also have other things I dont)
     
Loading...

Share This Page