Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Full cPanel installation for DNS Only use.

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by DeepXP, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. DeepXP

    DeepXP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Internet
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am planning to get 2 servers to host master and slave name servers. I was planning to install full version cPanel on both and disable non-dns services on both. This way, I will have flexibility of enabling those services in future if required.

    But I am not sure if this is a good move. Should I go ahead with this setup or I should simply install the DNSONLY version of cPanel?

    My server charges include cPanel without any additional fees, so I won't save the cost if I chose DNSONLY version.

    Thanks
    Deep
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,522
    Likes Received:
    426
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you don't need it, why pay for 2 licenses?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DeepXP

    DeepXP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Internet
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @Infopro - I am not paying any extra amount for cPanel installation. My question is, does it make any difference if I use full cPanel installation as DNSONLY server? Or it's better to use DNSONLY version of the cPanel only.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,522
    Likes Received:
    426
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. DeepXP

    DeepXP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Internet
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It would be great if someone can answer the question I have asked. Thanks.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,522
    Likes Received:
    426
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's better to use DNS only.

    HTH!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice