Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Full restore (cpmove) doesn't restore subdomains

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by PeteS, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. PeteS

    PeteS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Has anyone seen this issue. I assumed a quick Google would find something on it but I find nothing.

    I'm transferring an account from one server to another using cpmove method. It completes with warnings for each subdomain. Here's a sanitized example from the log:

    "Skipped item (“Domains::_fix_subdomain_docroot”, line 120): Failed to move the document root for “subdmain.example.com” to “/home/example/public_html/subdomain”: Directory not empty"

    I checked the file structure and the subdomain subdirectories exist and are empty except for an empty CGI folder. Surely that's not the problem, that it creates the subdomain folder and the default CGI subfolder, and thus it is not empty, so fail?

    I retried with Restricted Restore off, same result.

    Centos 7.4, cPanel 68.0.19
     
  2. PeteS

    PeteS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hmmm... Maybe I spoke too soon. The file structure appears to be correct, compared to the old server. (My initial analysis seems to have been premature "I checked the file structure and the subdomain subdirectories exist and are empty except for an empty CGI folder. Surely that's not the problem, that it creates the subdomain folder and the default CGI subfolder, and thus it is not empty, so fail?" This actually is correct, right?)

    So why the warning?
     
  3. PeteS

    PeteS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have my answer... after DNS switched I'm getting 403 on subdomain.example.com and example.com/subdomain.

    Can anyone tell me what's going on here?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,715
    Likes Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Pete,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
  5. PeteS

    PeteS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually I just sorted it out...

    The old server (no root access, so I have to guess on some of this) is set up as:
    /home/user/subdomain (contains the content) with a symlink from /home/user/public_html/subdomain (with no content, but pointing to the content) and subdomain.example.com pointed to /home/user/public_html/subdomain. It wasn't this way in the past and I don't know when they changed things, but it's a bit odd (and part of the reason it's the "old" server - I'm leaving that sinking ship).

    The new server is the normal /home/user/public_html/subdomain only, with subdomain.example.com pointed to /home/user/public_html/subdomain.

    It looks like cpmove doesn't know what to do with that. All I had to do was move the content to the empty (thus 403) folder o the new server and all's well.

    If that all sounds right to you then we're done and you can mark it solved. Someone else may run into this same issue and hopefully this will help.

    -Pete
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,715
    Likes Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Pete,

    I'm glad to see you were able to determine the cause of the issue. I'm marking this thread as solved.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page