The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

full restore directory problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HendrikGent, May 7, 2006.

  1. HendrikGent

    HendrikGent Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi i want to restore a complete backup but do not know where to put the backup file.

    Do I need to upload the file with the ftp login from the user and make a directory as root ?
    I was wondering if I can't ftp to the complete root of the server. As I haven't found no way in doing this. It doesn't work with the UN and pass that i use to login at the web host manager.


    Thanks and sorry if this is a dumb question.
     
  2. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    you just need place backup file in /home folder
     
  3. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    as the error said, just copy the backup file from the backup location to one of the location
    Code:
    /home,/usr/home,/web,/home2,/home3,/root,/usr 
    
    if you use the off-site ftp backup, you need to upload the backup file to those location, just make any ftp user and upload the file, then copy as root using ssh

    hope that helps
     
  4. HendrikGent

    HendrikGent Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the help.
    But I'm afraid that i don't understand what I need to do to copy as root using ssh.
    How do I do this?

    Thanks
     
  5. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Something that will make Server Administration a bit easier for you is WinSCP. Its like an FTP client that works on the principal of SSH. Just Drag & Drop files :)

    You will then be able to restore the full backup through whm.

    Alternativley in SSH you could use /scripts/restorepkg /pathtobackup/backupname.tar.gz
     
  6. HendrikGent

    HendrikGent Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    but how do i move it in ssh?
    What is the code. what do i need to type in as 'move file.tar.gz /home' doesn't work
    Do i need to give the account normal shell access or jailed shell ?

    Thanks
     
  7. HendrikGent

    HendrikGent Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry for my question, downloaded the problem and it works perfect.

    But after I do a full restore I get the standard cpanel no content page on every subdomain.
    What could be wrong? As far as i can see all the pages are there.

    Any help appreciated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page