Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

full server backup through ssh

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sialbrijendra, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. sialbrijendra

    sialbrijendra Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    please tell me how i can take full server backup through ssh....

    i don't want to take backup for particular account i just want to take whole server backup through ssh...

    help me fast
     
  2. sialbrijendra

    sialbrijendra Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    someone help please fast...
     
  3. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /scripts/cpbackup --force

    To start a full backup, following the settings in /etc/cpbackup.conf, run the following command:

    Code:
    # /scripts/cpbackup --force
    This will back up all accounts on the server without prompting you.

    This question has been answered many times already in these forums. I did a quick search and found the following thread, which answers this question and also provides some additional information about our backup system:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f49/manual-backup-via-whm-157366.html

    I hope this is helpful. Please let me know if you have any followup questions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. sialbrijendra

    sialbrijendra Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51

    but i have never changed any setting in this cpbackup.conf file...

    will i be still able to take backup or i will have to do setting first...

    i m in rescue mode i cant change setting thought whm...
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /etc/cpbackup.conf is written when you select backup settings in the WebHost Manager, in Main >> Backup >> Configure Backup. If you have never used it, there should be some very basic settings already configured. Here is an example of a cpbackup.conf file:

    Code:
    root@seagull [~]# cat /etc/cpbackup.conf
    BACKUP2 yes
    BACKUPACCTS yes
    BACKUPCHECK yes
    BACKUPDAYS 0,1,2,3,4,5,6
    BACKUPDIR /backup
    BACKUPENABLE yes
    BACKUPFILES no
    BACKUPFTPDIR 
    BACKUPFTPHOST 
    BACKUPFTPPASSIVE no
    BACKUPFTPUSER 
    BACKUPINC no
    BACKUPINT weekly
    BACKUPLOGS no
    BACKUPMOUNT no
    BACKUPRETDAILY 0
    BACKUPRETMONTHLY 1
    BACKUPRETWEEKLY 1
    BACKUPTYPE normal
    COMPRESSACCTS yes
    DIEIFNOTMOUNTED no
    GZIPRSYNCOPTS --rsyncable
    MYSQLBACKUP accounts
    I attached a screenshot showing the settings in Main >> Backup >> Configure Backup that would generate this file. If your /etc/cpbackup.conf file looks like the one above, your accounts and their databases would be backed up to the /backup directory.

    Even though you do not have access to the WebHost Manager, you may find the backup section in our documentation helpful:

    Configure Backup
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    If your server already had backups setup and working before it ran into problems, running the command mentioned will use those settings you already had in place and backup your accounts.

    If you never had a backup setup, you'd need to edit the file mentioned, save it, and then try running the command he gave you.

    HTH
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice