The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fundamental issues with setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benz1, Feb 20, 2011.

1. benz1

benz1 Member

Can someone please save my sanity? After 2 nights with virtually no sleep trying to so a server migration I am about to throw in the towel so this is my last resort.

I'm not a network engineer or anywhere near one but have used cpanel for years on managed servers. Long story short I've ended up with a host that does not provide cpanel or a managed service so I bought a cpanel license and the host installed it but did no configuration. I copied as much of the configuration as I could from another cpanel VPS account and recompiled Apache to the latest version. That's when problems started. I migrated over some account and some sites appear to work ok but others have serious issues so I've had to leave them on the old server for now. It looks liek the issues are all due to the configuration of cpanel.

Is there such a thing as a setting up cpanel for dummies guide that goes through all the configuration in non-technical terms and tells you step-by-step what to do for a 'standard' configuration?

Alternatively, where can I look to find someone to do it for me?

Thanks in advance.

2. LinuxTechie

LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #2 LinuxTechie, Feb 20, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  3. benz1

benz1 Member

Nameservers are still pointing to the old server but A records are pointing to the new. The plan was than once all accounts were migrated I'd then change the nameservers but have ended up with some accounts on the new (that appear to be working ok) and some on the old as they had issues when I migrated them.