The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GD Extension not enabled

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by iSumitG, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. iSumitG

    iSumitG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I want to enable GD extension for installing osCommerce. It is not enabled as of now.
    How can I do it?
    I read in another thread that I need to go to Main > Service Configuration > PHP Configuration Editor
    but I couldn't find option for enabling GD extension there.

    Also people suggesting for recompile Apache (EasyApache) or PHP with GD -- how to do it?
    I am concerned if my server become unstable (or less secure) after the updating Apache or PHP. What are the things I need to make sure before doing a updation or changing configuration file (or parameters)?

    Thank you.
     
    #1 iSumitG, Apr 23, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  2. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Just rebuild Apache + PHP with GD via EasyApache. Go to WHM->Software->EasyApache (Apache Update).
     
  3. iSumitG

    iSumitG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do I need to have a checklist what are the things I need to take care?
    I am concerned about the stability and security of the server.

    Also, EasyApache is asking for profile to be loaded. Options are:

    1. Previously Saved Config
    2. Basic
    3. No PHP
    4. PHP Encryption
    5. PHP Encryption and Image Manipulation
    6. PHP Image Manipulation
    7. PHP Security

    I am confused which one to choose. I think I should choose option 1 as I want everything to be same as earlier with GD enabled. Please suggest.

    Thank you.
     
  4. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, Previously Saved Config ->Start customizing based on profile->Apache version (leave it as it is) ->PHP Major Version (same)-> PHP Minor version (same) -> Short Options List -- here choose "Exhaustive Options List" at the bottom of the page --> Check "GD [More Info ↑]" -->"Save and Built" button. Done :)
     
  5. iSumitG

    iSumitG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you so much. In the last it is asking for "Configure PHP and SuExec". Do I need to do anything here or just leave as it is?
     
  6. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you don't want to change an option leave it at it is. (I don't know on what screen you see 'configure php and suexec')
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's at the end of the Apache recompile. It will ask if you want to change the PHP and SuExec options at the end of the build, which then lets you change the PHP handler or disable/enable SuExec. Those are the same options you'll see in WHM > Apache Configuration > PHP and SuExec Configuration area. Just accept the default it should already have if you aren't making any changes to the PHP handler.
     
Loading...

Share This Page