The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GD fails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thomas, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all,

    I am downgrading PHP from 4.3.0 to 4.2.3, and need GD support, but it always fails with this error:

    Does anyone have a solution to this? never had this problem with GD on this server before.
     
  2. Admin356

    Admin356 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The path to gd may be incorrect , the buildapaches seem to have the incorrect path when compiling php 4.2.3 with the upgraded version of gd - try compiling php by

    cd /cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.2.3 (or where you downloaded it to)

    Compile gd with --with-gd and not --with-gd=../gd-2.0.11
    along with your other options.

    Hope that helps
     
    #2 Admin356, Feb 19, 2003
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2003
  3. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, tried that.

    During 'make' it stops with this error:

     
  4. maxx

    maxx Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this one worked for me.

    './configure' '--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs' '--with-xml' '--enable-bcmath' '-- enable-calendar' '--enable-ftp' '--enable-magic-quotes' '--with-mysql' '--with-pear' '-- enable-sockets' '--enable-track-vars' '--enable-versioning' '--with-zlib' '--with-gd' '-- enable-gd-native-ttf' '--with-jpeg-dir'

    good luck!
     
  5. maxx

    maxx Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    although, on second look, that configure statement was with php 4.3.0.

    sorry about that.
     
  6. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No problem.

    I started over, removed the php dir, extracted it again.

    During make now, I get this error:

     
  7. Admin356

    Admin356 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try /scripts/fixheaders

    Then compile the gd package (*you might want to try compiling gd 2.0.4 from your old build again)

    Then recompile php to where you installed gd.

    Good luck.
     
  8. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Never mind, I remembered I read 4.2.3 had to be patched to work with GD 2.0.8 ->, once I did that it compiled without errors. :eek:

    Thanks guys!!

    Now I need to get some sleep. :)
     
  9. hostbet

    hostbet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can you share were you get the patch and how...
    I have the same problem.
     
  10. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  11. hostbet

    hostbet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, I will try today.

    That was a fast reply :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page