The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GD Library not working | YES -- It's installed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ToddW, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    General Info:
    • I am the 'owner' of the leased server (SoftLayer)
    • I can make any changes for testing myself.
    • My thought is somewhere in WHM or ConfigServer some setting is limiting the usage of GD via system security restrictions. However, I've yet to find this option/configuration...


    Software in use:
    • CENTOS 6.5 x86_64 standard – server1
    • WHM 11.42.1 with ConfigServer Security & Firewall - csf v6.48
    • GD Library
    • VBulletin 3.8.x & 4.x
    • Sites having this issue have disk space available.


    Issue:
    I was just notified by one of my users that their photos were no longer resizing after the move(server migration) on their VBulletin site. The VB configuration is setup to use GD lib.

    I verified GD was installed, and that SafeMode was not enabled.

    Server GD Lib Information:
    I also went into another VBulletin site on the same server and tested and it too says "Cannot Resize".

    I went through every option I thought that could be limiting this functionality (in WHM), and even tried SafeMode Option in Vbulletin, and used various /tmp folders (777 permi) out of web-root but still user home directory.
     
    #1 ToddW, Apr 21, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  2. cPJerry

    cPJerry Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    Are your users possibly requiring imagemagick?

    Do you have any error messages from any error logs?
     
  3. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No. If that was the case it would be CHECKED/ENABLED in VBULLETIN. It's not, as I said originally it's configured in Vbulletin to use GD on BOTH sites I tested on. I manage all these sites, my clients do not have admin/configuration option to change these things.

    There are no errors relating to this in the users' site error_log file.

    However in: /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log I have this:

    File does not exist: /home/user/public_html/404.shtml, referer:
    /http://www.siteDomain.com/forums/newattachment.php?t=11182&poststarttime=1398103322&posthash=dd2485aa9253d59fe01681e146c98196

    Which I believe is just causing the 404 call because the attachment upload wasn't there as it should have been.
     
    #3 ToddW, Apr 21, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Where are you seeing these details you mention?
    Have you ran EasyApache since moving to the new server?
     
  5. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wherever I want to see it, I'm using: gd_info()

    ...yes, of course.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is none that I'm aware of. If this was CSF causing an issue, you'd probably see something in your logs from CSF.
     
  7. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmm, yeah. I def. didn't manually disable anything either.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support about this if you like. if you do, post the ticket ID back here so we can follow along with it.


    Thanks.
     
  9. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also checked libJPEG Version and I currently have: 6b

    (I mention this because someone-else had the same problem and fixed it by going back to 6 from 8)

    I think the biggest RED FLAG we're all thinking about is that the error_log doesn't contain errors for missing functions or library... for some other reason it's simply not working.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,668
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /home/* has 0 php.ini files. So, no.

    I'm not sure if this helps or not, but I installed ImageMagick (CP command line script), and then configured the Forum to use ImageMagick -- and this works. However, I'd still like to solve the issue with GD.

    GD still not working.
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,668
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page