The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General CP question about multiple domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ZeroFill, May 4, 2003.

  1. ZeroFill

    ZeroFill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried using cpanel's whm demo but it fails (won't accept the user/pass)
    I tried looking though the documentation but it only mentions domain pointers

    Hopefully one of the actual users can help me out here. Right now I've tried other host managers such as HSphere and so far it has what i need -- multiple domain hosting. Can cpanel do multiple domain hosting too? I don't mean just a pointer but a full-fledged domain in the same account.

    The reason I ask is because there are some plans i'd like to make which allow users to host 3 domains. Again, this won't be a simple pointer but an actual domain. Each domain will have its own resource such as email, subdomains, ftp accounts, etc. The only thing it will share is bandwidth and disk space with the other domains.

    Thank You
     
    #1 ZeroFill, May 4, 2003
    Last edited: May 4, 2003
  2. ZeroFill

    ZeroFill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks.

    I was wondering what that option was (from the pics). Wasn't too sure if that was a domain pointer or an actual domain resource. Now only if the demo can get up and running :)
     
  3. Skygod

    Skygod Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Perhaps you can help me.

    I am trying to get pop3 email for my addon domain. Apparently this isn't allowed with the addon domain name.

    Is mail forwarding allowed?

    TIA

    -Skygod
     
  4. Jared_M

    Jared_M Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    We have an HSphere server too and have to say that it implements multiple domains on an account far more cleanly than CPanel does with its addon domains.

    As unintuitive as the HSphere user interface is, it is far more easier to use when hosting multiple domains on the same account than CPanel. I'm tempted to offer a restricted WHM account instead of letting users use AddOn domains.
     
  5. Damian

    Damian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    POP accounts for addon domains is supported. When addon domains exist on the account you will see the addon domain name appear in a selection list when adding the mail account.

    If you are not seeing the drop down box then either domain pointing hasn't been done or your cpanel skin doesn't have the ability to display them - upgrade the cpskin or use the bluelagoon theme.

    Mail forwarding and auto-responders work in the same way.

    Mail filtering and spam assassin applies to all domains within the account.

    One thing to note is that all addon domains are managed from the one cpanel login. Each addon domain does not get its own.
     
  6. Skygod

    Skygod Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yay!!! Thanks Damian, best news I've had all week.

    Couldn't get a straight answer anywhere and my host admin said it wasn't possible at all.

    Off to set it up now, thanks again.

    -Skygod
     
Loading...

Share This Page