The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General Remote Backup using rsync

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by asmar, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There are a lot of posts regarging cpanel backup. However, most of them are not very clear.
    I would like to ask if someone has implement a remote backup using rsync and the most important if he/she did a restore to see if everything is working fine.

    If I set up the /home and the /var/lib/mysq directories, am I done?

    Can I just restore the account by simply using a cp -a ?

    Any comments are really appretiate.

    Thanks
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The simplest method is to generate a remote backup is to obviously use that functionaility that already exists in WHM. Other than that, I always recommend doing local full cPanel backups and simply rsync the results off-server. Restoring is then simple.
     
  3. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is ideal but when you don't have a 2nd disk and the load is high is too much to make the backup's on the same disk and then using rsync.
     
  4. meganet

    meganet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is the built in remote backup the 'ftp backup host' option under the backup menu? Meaning you simply create an FTP account on a secondary cpanel server?
     
  5. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    As far as I know you the cpanel's script must make local the backup's first and then upload them remotely. Not usefull at all...
     
  6. meganet

    meganet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hm, i was hoping more of like a 'mirror' of account info and data as a failover option. Is this not possible?
     
  7. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    meganet another solution is to map a smb or nfs remotely drive and let the cpanel make the backups there.

    I haven't tried that but I cannot see a reason why not work.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    SMB or NFS mounts can be a problem because the cPanel backup first copies the file into the backup directory and then tarball+gzips them in-situ - this causes serious network/performance problems.
     
  9. meganet

    meganet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, SMB and NFS are out of the question as this is an offsite backup. Chripy, if you could point out the remote backup function built in to WHM? I seem to be at a loss of finding it.
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, that would be the WHM > Configure Backup > Ftp Backup options
     
  11. meganet

    meganet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ah thanks - I had found that but wasn't sure if that was the sole option.
     
Loading...

Share This Page