The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gentoo and cpanel - Why have you failed us ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ali3nx, Oct 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ali3nx

ali3nx Member

Gentoo and cpanel - Making Progress! Gentoo Portage support. pg3 for details

I'm an avid supporter and administrator of Gentoo Linux servers in use in the datacenter and I would like to inquire about the current status of cpanel support for our great officially listed major linux distribution. I admin for a major hosting provider aswell and we have a 2.8 HT Pentium4 Redhat 9 hosting server with 570 users that is running a licenced cpanel installation but the server with cpanel running and 570 users has consistant loads over 17.00 :eek:
    we need this server to support 1200 users but thats not going to be realistic with cpanel and redhat

load average: 17.68, 17.84, 19.56
    load average: 17.56, 11.81, 10.89

We are serious that Gentoo Linux could improve these load averages by allowing us to install a server all from source with targeted cflag compiled binaries and ease of administration but cpanel has failed us with no support for a major linux distribution. If there is anything that myself or my team of developers could do to assist with testing or development of cpanel on Gentoo Linux I would be open to suggestions. I also think the developers of cpanel should take notice to the tens of thousands of Gentoo servers in use in the datacenter that can provide for extra market share and sales for cpanel. Redhat cannot hold the capacity of a Gentoo Linux server and we desparately need cpanel support on Gentoo Linux :confused:

#1 ali3nx, Oct 28, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2005
  2. cPanelBilly

cPanelBilly Guest