Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

getfile: Can't write 1448 bytes to /usr/share/clamav/clamav-917a563483a6171fe02eac005

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by constantine, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hello ,

    I can't update Clamav .

    Code:
    root@constan [~]# freshclam
    sda1: write failed, user block limit reached.
    ClamAV update process started at Sun Jul 26 15:56:52 2009
    WARNING: Your ClamAV installation is OUTDATED!
    WARNING: Local version: 0.95.1 Recommended version: 0.95.2
    DON'T PANIC! Read http://www.clamav.net/support/faq
    ERROR: chdir_tmp: Can't create directory ./clamav-1cb832b46c1c20fe798628ebf3ddf422
    WARNING: Incremental update failed, trying to download main.cvd
    getfile: Can't write 1448 bytes to /usr/share/clamav/clamav-917a563483a6171fe02eac0059852cbe
    WARNING: Can't download main.cvd from database.clamav.net

    Please Advise.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you able to write data to /usr/share/clamav/ yourself (e.g. touching a file that doesn't yet exist)?
     
  3. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Yes. I can .

    Code:
    root@constan [/usr/share/clamav]# touch test.v
    root@constan [/usr/share/clamav]# ls
    ./  ../  daily.cvd  main.cvd  test.v
    
     
  4. logicsupport

    logicsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Clamav ownership/permissions

    It could be due to /usr/share/clamav having incorrect ownership/permissions.

    Make sure /usr/share/clamav/ is owned by the right user . If it is owned by user "qscand" then try to change it to user "clamav"

    And in the file freshclam.conf change DatabaseOwner to clamav

    -----
    DatabaseOwner clamav
    -----
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I have problem yet !

    Tank you for your help but all these setting was OK !


    Code:
    # ls -l
    total 18836
    drwxrwxr-x  2 clamav clamav     4096 Jul 29 14:12 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 77 root   root       4096 May  9 22:08 ../
    -rw-rw-r--  1 clamav clamav   778749 Apr  3 13:49 daily.cvd
    -rw-rw-r--  1 clamav clamav 18462921 Apr  3 13:49 main.cvd
    -rw-r--r--  1 root   root          0 Jul 27 19:08 test.v
    
    Also ownership of clamav folder is clamav !

    and DatabaseOwner is clamav in freshclam.conf
     
  6. logicsupport

    logicsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Try re-installing

    Through WHM's Plugin try uninstalling and then re-installing Clamav by unchecking the "ClamAV Connector" and save it then go back to that page and check it to re-install ClamAV.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Thank you for your reply

    I already did it .
    Also I try to install it manually by source . When the installation completed , I see the same error again for update clamav with freshclam !!!
     
  8. logicsupport

    logicsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Check quota

    see if you've exceeded your quota also do you have enough disk space?

    Check all the disk quotas with:

    repquota -av
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Yes . It seem clamav has limited space usage !
    How can I resolve it ?
    Code:
    # repquota -av | grep clamav
    clamav    +-   40348    5120    5120   none      12     0     0
    
    Here is tables of quota :
    Block limits File limits
    User used soft hard grace used soft hard grace
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. logicsupport

    logicsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    This can be done with edquota command

    To change quota of user clamav
    # edquota clamav
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. constantine

    constantine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56

    YES ! problem Solves .

    Thank you
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice