The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Geting Started

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jghogue, Apr 29, 2011.

1. jghogue

jghogue Registered

Greetings all!

I am an experienced software developer just getting started with web design. I am creating my first website that will offer products for sale and am learning my way around cpanel.

The available site builders are Site Builder & Templates, RV Site Builder, and SohoLaunch Site Builder. Under "Popular Choices", Fantastico and Joomla are listed.

Would anyone like to tackle a brief explanation of each and which software would be better for an e-commerce site? Opinions are welcome.

Thank you.

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you going to be designing sites for people or provide hosting? When you mention products for sale, I'm trying to determine what precise market of products you would be providing. For example, Fanastico and Joomla are entirely different products. Fantastico is an installer for a slew of scripts for cPanel and requires that the user have cPanel on the machine. Joomla is a content management system that is just a basic script application. Fantastico actually has Joomla (and WordPress, and SMF, etc.) as one of the scripts available to install using it.

Basically, we would need to know the focus of your project, since you've given a broad range of applications.

3. jghogue

jghogue Registered

I have started a new company that sells health products. I want a web site and would like to design the site myself. The knowledge I gain from this will help expand my other company, a software consulting firm. Providing web-hosting is long term plans but not out of the question.