The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting 500 Internal server error with SUPHP

Discussion in 'Security' started by shojib, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. shojib

    shojib Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sylhet, Bangladesh
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,
    I am trying to configure my hosting business,
    Already compiled the apache and php with easy apache with my choice.
    After that I made some tweaks , like changing apache confuuguration (there is no problem)
    SSH access, Jailed shell , SUPHP , Open basedir tweak.
    Now I am getting a 500 internal server error on SUPHP , bout others like CGI and DSO works , and they can't handle most of the scripts , like wordpress core scripts.
    And I have found this on error log:

    And I searched in google for this problem, and executed this command , but this did not helped me .

    I hope you got a solution for me , and guys its urgent!
    So Please help me :)

    Best Regards,
    Shahriar
     
  2. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You must make sure all files in public_html are owned by the cPanel user; files owned by 'nobody' or 'root' (or other users) will cause a 500 with cPanel's configuration of SuPHP.
     
  3. shojib

    shojib Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sylhet, Bangladesh
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am sorry , but I have reinstalled my OS and configured Cpanel again , ant it's running smooth , but facing problems with wordpress admin panel
     
  4. es2alna

    es2alna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To all people that will come from search engines, Here is the fix for your first problem, just execute this command:
    Code:
    chmod +s /opt/suphp/sbin/suphp
    About the wordpress admin panel, what's the problem exactly?
     
  5. shojib

    shojib Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sylhet, Bangladesh
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi ,
    The main problem that I am feeling that,When I update any settings , like permalinks , or others, the settings page loads successfully , but after doing the changes , when I click save now , its shows nothing , just a blank screen without any error, I can't see the error in apache error log and php error log.
    And the problem also affects other settings like activating plugins , theme options etc.
    And for your reference : the screen shows blank , but the queries being successfully done by wordpress , like my changes is being saved when I click save , but it show's nothing :(
     
  6. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You might just need to increase the php memory_limit in php.ini, I had similar problems with WP that were solved that way. Updates need a fair amount of RAM for the php process.

    Otherwise again verify file permissions and try turning on display_errors for PHP temporarily.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You mentioned reinstalling your OS/cPanel previously. I just wanted to note that it's rarely necessary to reinstall the OS/cPanel to resolve an issue. It's better to troubleshoot an issue directly to determine the cause of the problem.

    Thank you.
     
  8. shojib

    shojib Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sylhet, Bangladesh
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am sorry , the main issue was the PHP handler , I didn't knew that suphp doesn't works with ruid2 , that's why changed the handler to DSO and everything's fixed.
    Cheers,
    Shahriar
     
Loading...

Share This Page