The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting alot of 'nobody' procceses!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chris8lunch, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm getting alot of 'nobody' procceses with HIGH CPU load.. What do I do?? How do I stop this? Whose causing it??

    Pid Owner Priority Cpu % Mem % Command
    27908 nobody 0 58 0.4 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL

    Also, alot from this,

    3 root 49 42 0.0 [ksoftirqd/0]

    [ksoftirqd/0] [ksoftirqd/0] [ksoftirqd/0] [ksoftirqd/0] IT KEEPS POPPING UP WITH HIGH CPU LOADS!
     
  2. chris74108

    chris74108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  3. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But it wasn't until today it started using ALOT of CPU!
     
  4. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, no offence but I think your trying to get me mad, what do you think I've been doing? Watching it isn't helping me at all. :(

    Thanks for your help if it wasn't sarcasim.
     
  6. chris74108

    chris74108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also after rereading your post

    27908 nobody 0 58 0.4 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL

    That is apache
    You will see one for each instance of apache
    If you have a lot of people using your webserver you will see a lot of them.
     
  7. chris74108

    chris74108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  8. chris74108

    chris74108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    try the command top
    and watch it a few
     
  9. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Would you mind explaining this more? What is "log parsing"? And another note its NEVER done this before until now.
     
  10. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    27900's are probably your domlogs parsing for the stats.

    lsof -p 27908

    Softirqd is a kernel thread that runs when its under heavy load. The softirq is generated faster than it can be serviced which obviously happens under load. You can adjust your log parsing times to better suite your needs.

    Every user runs as "nobody" if you have phpsuexec disabled and obviously you do. Unless they run a specific service that they log into such as FTP, they will show up with their account name.

    You can turn on phpsuexec by recompiling apache for better security but you also risk breaking scripts as most php scripts and mailers are setup to run as nobody. Also php accelerators need to run as nobody so you will lose the ability to run a cache accelerator with phpsuexec.
     
  11. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Softirqd is a kernel thread that runs when its under heavy load. The softirq is generated faster than it can be serviced which obviously happens under load. You can adjust your log parsing times to better suite your needs.

    Would you mind explaining this more? What is "log parsing"? And another note its NEVER done this before until now.
     
  12. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do I adjust this?
     
  13. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36

    Collecting your domain stats, bandwidth, quotas, etc.. just account statistics.
    You probably never noticed it run before but I am sure it has run, otherwise
    you would not have any information for account usage such as a users
    bandwidth or any data in your webalizer or awstats.

    I only keep awstats enabled for my clients. No one seems to care for the
    other stats programs so it may save you some cpu time by disabling
    the stats application you may not need.

    As your traffic increases and use base increases, obviously your log files
    will increase and require more processing time.
     
  14. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do I adjust this?/
     
  15. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I honestly think you might have this confsued with something else because my server load wouldn't just jump from average of 0.03 to 10+ with CPU usage new average of 90%+!!

    I can't even get in my server right now!!
     
  16. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You can adjust the scheduling in whm at the top:
    Statistics Software Configuration

    You can turn off the stats software you do not need in
    tweak settings > stats programs
     
  17. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its been doing this for 6+ hours. The server is 50% down and the other half when its up, its slow as crap.

    the proc ID for ksoftirqd/0 is 3 but it wont let me kill it!
     
  18. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its been doing this for 6+ hours. The server is 50% down and the other half when its up, its slow as crap.

    the proc ID for ksoftirqd/0 is 3 but it wont let me kill it!

    I just disabled
    webalizer
    awstats
    analog

    and it still the igh load with 'ksoftirqd/0'
     
  19. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    With the information you provided, that process was in the range of processing
    logs. A big load spike is very common. I would not pay much attention to averages
    but more so to actual cpu%. The average may be a bit unrealistic as like it says
    an average and not real time. So it will take a while to decay back down to a low
    idle level when your server is idle.

    WHM and cpanel is a bit heavy, especially when stats are processing, it would be
    normal to see big spikes and delays of responsiveness. I use whm as little as
    possible. Don't let whm and cpanel get in the way of your shell.
     
  20. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its been doing this for 6+ hours. The server is 50% down and the other half when its up, its slow as crap.

    the proc ID for ksoftirqd/0 is 3 but it wont let me kill it!

    I just disabled
    webalizer
    awstats
    analog

    and it still the igh load with 'ksoftirqd/0'
     
Loading...

Share This Page