Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Getting mod_deflate enabled

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BamaStangGuy, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. BamaStangGuy

    BamaStangGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have EDGE or CURRENT:

    Go to WHM -> Software -> Apache Update

    Proceed to modify your configuration and when you get to Profile :: Apache :: PHP Main :: PHP Specific :: Basic click on "Advanced Configuration" and check the option for "Deflate" and proceed to recompile Apache.

    EDIT: This option is not available when compiling Apache 1.3
     
  3. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi, I am using:

    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-R16983
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Is it possible now to update from Apache 1.3 to Apache 2.2? I don;t see that option in "Apache Update" in WHM.

    Thanks.
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    EA3 is not yet in RELEASE.
     
  5. BamaStangGuy

    BamaStangGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    I guess I should have given more info on my setup. My apologies.

    Right now I am using CURRENT with:

    Apache 2.2.6
    PHP 5.2.4

    I have followed your steps and am unable to get Deflate to work. Testing to see if my pages are being compressed shows that they are not. I am under the impression that I must add more to my httpd.conf to load the module and tell it what to compress.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice