The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting started with cPanel - FTP into a new domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by scottscomp, Apr 24, 2003.

  1. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    Hi all!

    Just got my dedicated server yesterday. It has FreeBSD 4.8 and cPanel 6. My intent is mostly selling reseller accounts - chunks of server space/bandwidth and X many domains.

    I created a reseller account and gave it an IP address. Then I logged into that WHM, and created a regular account: mlmwebhosting.net - just to test it out.

    I can't FTP into the account. I've tried a variety of usernames, both IP addresses, nothing works.

    The domain name resolved today so mlmwebhosting.net now has the correct DNS addresses (at least for my ISP it does) ns1/2.neutelligtent.com

    So I tried FTPing in using the domain name, and no luck.

    How in the world do you FTP to an account after you create it!?

    -Scott
     
  2. laundryp

    laundryp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpanel

    What does it list under ftp account in the Cpanel frontend, not the whm panel?
     
  3. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
  4. laundryp

    laundryp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hrm

    ftp.domainname.com doesn't work?
     
  5. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    I just tried typing ftp.mlmwebhosting.net into my web browser and it came back with an error that it couldn't resolve the domain name.

    Could it be a DNS issue? Not if I'm using an IP address to FTP into, right?

    I'll contact my NOC about it and if they can't get this fixed today I'm going back to Plesk...

    Thanks much for your help!

    -Scott
     
  6. laundryp

    laundryp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    try ip

    What is the IP?

    I cannot resolve the name either, that's a key problem.
     
  7. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    Main box IP is 64.157.176.59

    The reseller account I created is 64.159.76.201


    -Scott
     
  8. laundryp

    laundryp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    both have ftp running

    Both IPs have an ftp daemon running on them, of course I couldn't login.

    What are you using to FTP? It just takes a minute to connect for me.
     
  9. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    Using the main box IP, 64.157.176.59, I can login to the reseller account I created (godseesy) but not into the account that the reseller recreated (mlmhost).

    The reseller's (godseesy) site can be seen at http://64.159.76.201 so something is working right.

    I really appreciate your assistance. I have (I think) the guys at Neutelligent working on it, still waiting for an update...
     
  10. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    BTW, I use AbsoluteFTP by VanDyke for FTP.
     
  11. SouthernWeb

    SouthernWeb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Are you using secure FTP protocol? I ask this because in your other message it looked as though you were trying to FTP as root and that is a no-no.

    BTW, it doesn't help to create multiple messages about the same problem.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9241
     
  12. scottscomp

    scottscomp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thorp, WI
    Hey, SouthernWeb, you're right about two threads on the same problem. The other thread there was mostly to try to dig up some overall info on cPanel, documentation, tips, etc.

    As for the FTP thing - I did login as "admin", but it basically lets you have access to the whole server. Except you can't make any changes or upload anything. :) No, it was not using secure FTP.

    The big FTP problem I'm having right now is trying to login to a regular account I created - not as root. "Support" has been "working on it" for over 8.5 hours now. I can't believe I messed things up that bad after only using it for an hour.

    -Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page