Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Git for shell users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by digitalmahdi, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. digitalmahdi

    digitalmahdi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello there
    I've installed GIT. I wanna let my user ability to use it!
    right now when they type git it result: bash: git: command not found
    any idea how can i let them to use it?

    thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    The "git" package is distributed with cPanel/WHM as of version 11.36. It's located at:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/git
    You will need to use the full path when calling to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. digitalmahdi

    digitalmahdi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello there.

    I run : bash: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/git: No such file or directory

    stil not working!

    - - - Updated - - -

    it works for root! i need it to get work on user account!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The following command works well when testing as a user with both normal and jailed shell:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/git --version
    git version 1.7.11.3
    Do you have any special restrictions on the shell access granted to your users?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. digitalmahdi

    digitalmahdi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    no i don't. all i have is cagefs installed on cloudlinux.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This could be a result of your cagefs installation. Have you tried temporarily disabling cagefs to confirm if that is the case?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice