Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

giving access to /etc/valiases/domain.com to user with php s

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by haze, Apr 15, 2002.

  1. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    I have a customer that wants to be able to edit the file via a php script on his site. How can I go about doing this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:aa2e8a36bc][i:aa2e8a36bc]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:aa2e8a36bc]

    I have a customer that wants to be able to edit the file via a php script on his site. How can I go about doing this?[/quote:aa2e8a36bc]

    right now we do that manually for our clients ..

    but if there is a script to edit that which a client can handle on his/her own - would be great.

    Parag
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:82a454e803][i:82a454e803]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:82a454e803]

    I have a customer that wants to be able to edit the file via a php script on his site. How can I go about doing this?[/quote:82a454e803]

    He just wanted to edit it manually in a text box?
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    He is providing aliases to users of his site, and he has a scipt made up to automatically modify the file to do so. What permissions or ownerships rather, should I make? Are there any other steps?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:f6067f534d][i:f6067f534d]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:f6067f534d]

    He is providing aliases to users of his site, and he has a scipt made up to automatically modify the file to do so. What permissions or ownerships rather, should I make? Are there any other steps?[/quote:f6067f534d]

    Its already writable to his user if you a using suexec.
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Nope, I cant use SuExec, as it conflicts with a few of our users cgi scripts.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:dbc7054457][i:dbc7054457]Originally posted by bdraco[/i:dbc7054457]

    [quote:dbc7054457][i:dbc7054457]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:dbc7054457]

    He is providing aliases to users of his site, and he has a scipt made up to automatically modify the file to do so. What permissions or ownerships rather, should I make? Are there any other steps?[/quote:dbc7054457]

    Its already writable to his user if you a using suexec.[/quote:dbc7054457]
    If the valias file is already user writeable why would we need suexec to make the php script modify the file?
     
  8. snowgod

    snowgod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Because otherwise the script is run as &nobody& rather than the user (and the user owns his/her own valiases file). Nobody doesn't have access to write this file.

    But I didn't think PHP scripts were actually run under the user's UID under a buildapache(mod_php) setup, even with SUEXEC.

    Nick?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Anyone have a solution for this at all? Im still fooling around and haven't come up with anything.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. jpfour23

    jpfour23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    asy word on this... i'm trying to do it myself?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice