The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gmail host changing domains MX records in WHM

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by j0hnb, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I add these to the MX records in WHM?

    MX Server address Priority
    ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 1
    ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 5
    ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 5
    ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
    ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
    ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
    ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10

    I attempted to do this but it seems to have changed nothing. I was also only able to put in the first value how would I go about putting all of these values into the MX records.
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You'd need to choose the option to edit a whole dns zone, not just to edit the mx records.

    You can then pop in as many mx records as you like.
     
  3. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I attempted to do that the first time and I just tried again. I get a message saying.

    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.vr4eCcNl6Wj9qcWg:19: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM)
    zone smoothdesigners.com/IN: loaded serial 2005110604
    OK

    Bind reloading on cpanel using rndc zone: [smoothdesigners.com]


    Zone Modified!

    Then I go back to look at the dns zone and I see no changes. Any ideas?
     
  4. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    The best way to do it would be SSH your server and change the /var/named/<domain.com>.db file and restart named.
     
  5. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    alright last question. Sorry i am still new to this side of things.

    I have:
    ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 14400 IN MX 0 mail.smoothdesigners.com.

    Stored for the only one that saves. I know what the aspm... the 14400 ttl, it's stored in the MX recoreds. But what is the '0' for. Is this priority? and for the last statement can I set them all to mail.smoothdesigners.com?

    So my next line would look like:
    ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 14400 IN MX 1 mail.smoothdesigners.com
    correct?

    Thanks for all the help so far.
     
  6. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes it is the priority...

    The next line should be :
    Code:
    ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 14400 IN MX 10 mail.smoothdesigners.com
    It is good to have difference of 10+...
     
  7. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I made the edits like you suggested. It never seemed to change, though those entries showed up in the edit DNS zone. But when i hit submit with those entries in i recieve an error message saying:

    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:19: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:20: ignoring out-of-zone data (ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:21: ignoring out-of-zone data (ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:22: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:23: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:24: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM)
    dns_master_load: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.2jVFVj_RGN4ya_of:25: ignoring out-of-zone data (ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM)
     
  9. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I think I suggested you to change the DNS zone files through SSH and I suppose you are trying to add them through WHM.
     
  10. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I changed them through SSH, then after 2 days or gmail not noticing the changes I went back in WHM and looked at it. I edited another value, (removed some vent A name values) Hit edit and it gave me that error.
     
  11. Jorel

    Jorel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i was having the same problem, but i figured it out. the entry should look like this:

    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 1 ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 5 ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 5 ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.

    NOT

    ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 14400 IN MX 1 domain.com.
    etc.
     
    #11 Jorel, May 3, 2006
    Last edited: May 3, 2006
  12. ekhwan

    ekhwan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can you tell me step by step how you did that in WHM or SSH. Kindly mention in step wise order so that I can follow. Thanks a lot.
     
  13. j0hnb

    j0hnb Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In the end I never got mine working. I gave up after a while. All of the stuff I did i got off of the forums. Changing through WHM was done in edit DNS zone. Changing through ssh, was a simple file modification but I can't remember which file it was and all that. I never made the changes that Jorel mentioned, so it could still work.
     
  14. Jorel

    Jorel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There are two methods, you can use do it by shell or through the WHM.


    In the WHM, under Edit DNS click on "Edit DNS Zone."
    Find your domain and click "Edit."


    Delete out your old MX entry. Then add Google's so it looks like this:
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 1 ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 5 ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 5 ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 10 ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.


    Click Save. Bind should reload without any fuss and you should be good
    to go.


    The process is exactly the same using shell access except the file is
    located in /var/named/domain.com.db
    and you need to restart bind afterwards like so:
    service named restart

    all set.

    domain.com. 14400 IN TXT v=spf1 include:aspmx.googlemail.com ~all
    is how one adds the SPF record.

    Also, after the mail servers resolve correctly to google you want to
    edit the domain out of /etc/localdomains and add it to
    /etc/remotedomains so that mail is delivered properly from your server.
     
  15. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page