Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

GMail like mailbox setup

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Justin Furnas, Dec 21, 2017.

1. Justin Furnas

Justin Furnas Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello there. I have been using CPanel in a production environment for about 6 months now, and I am still getting used to it. I have all of my company email coming through my domain on my VPS server that runs CPanel, but it's been POP3. I check my email from my phone (using the gmail app) and multiple computers (using thunderbird mail) at different times in the day, and the remote mailbox isn't synced (It will be marked as read in one location, only to show as 'new/unread' in another.

I am using the default configuration that is enabled when accounts are created on cpanel. I am wondering if there is a way to configure the mail server (at least for this domain) to act more like gmail, so that all of my messages stay in sync, as well as having all of my 'sent' items show up on all clients? It doesn't need to work as far as a web client, but when I send a mail from this client, I'd like the 'sent' folder on all clients to reflect that, and any emails that I read in one client, or see in one client, should also show up the same in the rest. I was under the understanding that this setup was 'imap', but when I attempt to connect to my imap server (imap.example.com), none of my messages come, and I do not receive any new messages.

2. lorio

lorio Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator