The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got error message while changing E-mail password of a parked domain

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by lvt, Oct 27, 2013.

  1. lvt

    lvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    I got the error message "account doesn't exist" when I change the password of a parked domain's E-mail address through cPanel API.

    However, E-mail account creation / deletion and quota modification for that parked domain work fine with API.

    Please help, thanks.
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    parked domains does not have username / password, only addon domains and account domain can have password, could you specify which one you are trying to modify?
     
  3. lvt

    lvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner

    My situation is :

    I have an account with domain [my_main_domain.com] which works normally.

    Today I added another domain [my_parked_domain.com] to the above account as parked domain, everthing is fine until it happens that I need an E-mail address like [peter@my_parked_domain.com], I were able to create the E-mail address [peter@my_parked_domain.com], even modify its quota using cPanel API.

    But one thing doesn't work through API call : I'm unable to change the password for the E-mail address [peter@my_parked_domain.com] using API, "email::passwdpop" doesn't work with E-mail of a parked domain, it only works for the main domain.

    However I can change the password of any E-mail accounts, be it main domain or parked domain by using cPanel interface as usual, so I think that something is wrong here.

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. lvt

    lvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner

    I didn't look at the cPanel log because I work through API calls most of the time (I don't even know that there is a log for API calls).

    I once received an error message "account doesn't exist" returned by API call, I tried to repeat the error message but it shows nothing after that, it just doesn't work.

    Regards
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket so we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. lvt

    lvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner

    Where can I find the "Support access ID" please, in my WHM under the Support heading there is only the "Configure Customer Contact" menu, there is no "Support Center" menu ? I don't have access to shell.

    Can I make a support request on the forum ?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root access to this system? It sounds like you may not have root access because you mentioned that shell access is not available. I recommend contacting your web hosting provider for assistance if that is the case. They should be able to troubleshoot the issue with root access.

    Thank you.
     
  9. lvt

    lvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner

    Yes it seems that shell access is disabled on my reseller's WHM, I will ask them for help.

    Thanks
     
  10. luis

    luis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Got the same error a few minutes ago, after a while I realized the account was over quota, gave it more disk space and it worked.

    BTW, that thing where you have to go to WHM and give a little more disk space for a customer for him to be able delete an email account or change his email password... shouldnt be fixed? the problem is that I always forget to go back and reduce his quota back and I end with a bunch of customized accounts...
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can run the following command to reset quotas for the accounts back to the assigned values from their packages:

    Code:
    /scripts/resetquotas
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page