The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graceful Reboot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Faith Hosts, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. Faith Hosts

    Faith Hosts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hey,
    i done a graceful reboot at around 7pm GMT, and my site or WHM or any of the sites im hosting are yuo at 10:44pm GMT why is this? How long does Graceful reboot take? and how can i solve this?
    Thanks Faith Hosts
    http://www.faithhosts.com
     
  2. milohill

    milohill Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    A graceful reboot should usually take no more than a few minutes (at the most) and on my VPS it takes less than a minute. Running a traceroute on your domain also shows nothing meaning that your server is basically unreachable by that domain (it is not resolving properly). Do you have an IP address for the server, because you may be able to ssh into it or WHM might be still available.

    I am not an expert though so maybe one of the other guys maybe able to provide more help than me :)

    Good luck,
    Milo
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Looks like the graceful reboot ran into trouble. If you can't connect by IP, you will need to contact the datacenter to reboot it.
     
  4. Faith Hosts

    Faith Hosts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ip

    i have found out the ip it is
    205.209.144.56
     
  5. dspillett

    dspillett Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Your machine (dedicated or VPS), if not configured to skip (or auto-fix) the usual file-system checks at boot may be sat in single user mode waiting for root to take action on warnings found.

    If this is the case then a simple reboot won't work (it will wait at the same spot), though your DC's staff should know how to sort the issue.
     
  6. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Just out of curiosity, why were you going for a graceful reboot?. Did you see problems with the server before you did it ?
     
  7. Faith Hosts

    Faith Hosts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    No there werent any problems, the reason was i just got the WHM and my and the co-owner didnt know what happened when you done a graceful reboot or how long it took, so just so we had the knoweledge we attempted to do the graceful reboot.
     
  8. Faith Hosts

    Faith Hosts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Any ideas?
     
  9. Faith Hosts

    Faith Hosts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks all it has all been sorted
     
  10. milohill

    milohill Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cool, so what was wrong?

    Glad it is fixed
    Milo
     
  11. Tazz92

    Tazz92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the prob was when Graceful Rebooted the VPS Server it turn off inside the Server & was not fully Rebooted & i need to Contact the Support Team of the Hosting Company & now we have a Control Panel to fix it now. So we will not have this Prob anymore
     
  12. scild

    scild Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    But can I reboot system myselt?!

    I hame same promblems.
    But becides WHM I can work with Parallels Power Panel and with SSH.

    So can I reboot system after @Graceful Reboot". And how? -)
     
Loading...

Share This Page