The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

grnam: error getting gid

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by support@1stcom, Jan 5, 2003.

  1. support@1stcom

    support@1stcom Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The following message is dispayed in cpanel in the left of the screen
    under account information:
    Mysql Databases grnam: error getting gid / 1

    Also when you click on manage mysql these error messages appear:

    Sql Account Maintenance
    Databases
    grnam: error getting gid &http://av-database-solutions.com:2082/frontend/bluelagoon/images/delete.jpg&
    Users in grnam: error getting gid
    grnam: error getting gid &http://av-database-solutions.com:2082/frontend/bluelagoon/images/delete.jpg&
    Connection Strings
    Perl $dbh = DBI-&connect(&DBI:mysql:grnam: error getting gid_:grnam: error getting gid &,&grnam: error getting gid&,&&PASSWORD HERE&&);
    PHP $dbh=mysql_connect (&grnam: error getting gid &, &grnam: error getting gid&, &&PASSWORD HERE&&) or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db (&grnam: error getting gid_&);
    JDBC (may not be avalible)

    &%@ page import=&java.sql.*& %& Connection connection = null;
    Class.forName(&org.gjt.mm.mysql.Driver&).newInstance();
    connection = DriverManager.getConnection(
    &jdbc:mysql://grnam: error getting gid
    /grnam: error getting gid_?user=grnam: error getting gid&password=&PASSWORD HERE&&);


    Anyone have any ideal as to what is wrong?? I checked the groups file
    and can not find any problems there...

    Tony
    1stcom Web Hosting
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    **BUMP**

    Can anyone help with this?

    I really think this is an important problem that needs to be addressed.

    I've spoken with these guys and can confirm that the server does allow getgrnam, just not where cpanel is concerned.
     
  3. Tim Greer

    Tim Greer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Make sure the /etc/group file has proper ownership and permissions and has the correct data in it -- and that the user's GID (group ID) exists in there and matches their GID in /etc/passwd.
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That information has been verified and also doing a simple php script to test posix_getgrnam worked fine. Only calls from a cpanel generated page or program has the error.
     
  5. daniele81

    daniele81 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    grnam error getting gid

    I have the solution to grnam error getting gid problem.
    If you want, contact me.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. scollins

    scollins Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anyone else?

    Seeing as daniele81 is trying to charge a rediculous amount of money for the fix on this issue, I was wondering if anyone ELSE knew how to resolve this problem?

    I guess I'll open a ticket with cpanel and see if we can get an answer in here so we don't all have to pay someone else to fix it :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. daniele81

    daniele81 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can give you a little tip

    I apologize with scollins. The solution for grnam error getting id error is little complicated.

    I can make the job for you, but i not work for nothing.
    Is it wrong?

    I can give you a little tip. You must fix this files and "grnam getting id" error will disappear:

    /etc/group
    /etc/passwd

    When i have the time, i can also explain how.
    Best regards, Daniele.
     
    #7 daniele81, Oct 8, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2003
  8. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having this problem and I have checked the permissions on both files:
    /etc/group
    /etc/passwd
    both set to 644 owned by root
    I also checked to make sure that each specific user matches the gid. Both the cpanel and mailmain users are entered correctly. I can't think of anything else to do to fix this problem. I would appreciate any further information on this error.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. scollins

    scollins Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cpanel developers are working on it.

    I contacted cpanel and it's gone to teir 2 and now to the developers. Perms and gid's in /etc/group and /etc/passwd are fine. running perl getgrnam.pl returns values indicating no issues with the grnam function.

    Will post more info on this as it become available.

    ps- daniele81, no one asked you to fix anything FOR us. How does that saying go? "Catch a fish for a man and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime."

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 25789
     
  10. daniele81

    daniele81 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can resolve "error getting gid"

    I can resolve "error getting gid" problem in 2 hours, because i have resolved this problem on my servers a lot of times.
    Bye.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've also placed a ticket on this one. If anyone get's a fix *cough*[daniele81]*cough* I'd sure appreciate some direction. A good deed always get's returned :)

    Griz

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. scollins

    scollins Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    strange fix

    apparently wheel went missing from /etc/group
    After wheel was re-added things went back to normal.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. daniele81

    daniele81 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    wrong way

    Wrong way in some case.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    According to Mike at liquidweb { A genius in my book } , this can be solved by ensuring that the wheel group is listed in /etc/groups

    If you'd like to send me an ungodly amount of money, I can also fix this terribly complicated issue for anyone interested. :D

    Griz

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. daniele81

    daniele81 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I surrender

    I surrender and i explain the last tip.

    If adding wheel group not work, you must check cpanel's files group.

    The GID 3200 (or 32000, i not remember) must be associated with a group, or getting gid error will not desappear.

    This problem can occour when your group file is corrupt (in consequence of a uncleanly reboot or zero space in root partition).

    I apologize for my english. Bye bye.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    I encountered the same error.

    In the file /etc/group the entry for mailman was missing.

    first find the gid of mailman using
    #groups mailman

    Add the entry to the file /etc/group

    luv
    Sreevishnu
     
Loading...

Share This Page