The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HA Questions - Rsync and MySQL Replication - other automation?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by TOMJLAEL, Apr 24, 2014.

1. TOMJLAEL

TOMJLAEL Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All,

Long story short, we've got a bit of a small SaaS system we've developed that we're hosting on a dedicated server, and it runs in CPanel. We only have this account running on this dedicated server.

I also want to say that I'm not a developer at all. I'm a systems and network admin, but I'm super green with Linux and MySQL, php, apache, et cetera. Nonetheless, being the everything but the kitchen "sync" :D type of admin, I can thumb my way through things enough.

I've been doing some testing over the last two weeks with utilizing a combination of RSync to sync the files found in /HOME/AccountName directory, and setting up MySQL in a Master-Slave configuration to sync the databases from the master to the slave. Our ultimate goal is to have an active/passive failover server, warmsite, whatever you want to call it. We're going to have primary ServerA in one datacenter with a particular hosting provider, and ServerB (failover) in a physically disparate datacenter, with a completely different hosting provider to mitigate one particular issue causing issues with our SaaS availability.

What I don't know is if there is anything outside of the /HOME/Accountname directory that I need to sync from ServerA, to ServerB to automate failover as much as possible.

For example, the developer has developed this in such a way that each client gets their own dedicated database for the SaaS. I don't know if that's for better or worse, but will we have to manually create the same DB on ServerB?